Jasprit Bumrah and Shikhar Dhawan return to T20I and ODI squads; Rohit Sharma rested for Sri Lanka series

Opener Shikhar Dhawan has also been drafted back into the ODI and T20 squad.

Jasprit Bumrah. (Photo by Morgan Hancock/Action Plus via Getty Images)

India had a successful endeavour in 2019 as the Men in Blue ended their year on a high by clinching the three-match ODI series against West Indies. With an aim to continue their winning momentum forward, Virat Kohli and his troops will start their 2020 campaign by a three-match T20I series against Sri Lanka, followed by a three-match ODI series against Australia.

Ahead of the much-awaited T20I and ODI series, India have announced their squad to encounter Sri Lanka and Australia. Indian speedster Jasprit Bumrah- who was sidelined from the game due to injuries- is set to mark his comeback into international cricket. Bumrah last played for India in the West Indies Tests and missed Test series and limited-overs assignments against South Africa and Bangladesh at home.


Opener Shikhar Dhawan has also been drafted back into the ODI and T20 squad after the left-hander missed the T20I series against West Indies. Sanju Samson was picked in place of Dhawan after the ace Indian opener injured his left knee while playing for Delhi against Maharashtra in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.

Rohit Sharma has been rested for Sri Lanka T20I series

Meanwhile, Rohit Sharma, who has been playing non-stop cricket this year across formats, has been rested for the T20I series against Sri Lanka. It has been a sensational 2019 for India’s limited-overs vice-captain as he has gathered 2442 runs this year. However, to escape from the strenuous job of playing for India, the right-hander has decided to take a break for a while. Along with Rohit, pacer Mohammed Shami has also been rested for the T20I series. The right-handed speedster has delivered formidable bowling performances on a consistent basis this year.

The first T20I against Sri Lanka is scheduled to be played at Guwahati on January 5, the second one will be played in Indore (January 7) and the third one will be at Pune (January 10). With an objective to cement their squad for the next year’s T20 World Cup, India are expected to chop and shuffle their starting line-up ahead of the marquee event.

Watch: Tabraiz Shamsi flaunts his shoe celebration in MSL 2019