Kane Williamson-led New Zealand set to play Board President's XI in the warm up game

Kane Williamson-led New Zealand set to play Board President’s XI in the warm up game

New Zealand will be eager to do well in the practice games ahead of the ODI series, starting on October 22.

Kane Williamson New Zealand
New Zealand captain Kane Williamson leads his team off the field. (Photo by Stu Forster/Getty Images)

Kane Williamson-led New Zealand side will look to get some much needed match practice ahead of the ODI series against India. The visitors will play Board President’s XI in a warm-up game. The likes of Martin Guptill and Ross Taylor will look to sharpen their blades ahead of the high-voltage contest against Virat Kohli’s in-form Indian squad. Williamson and his men failed to take home a trophy during their previous visit last year.

For Board President’s XI, Mumbai’s promising youngster Shreyas Iyer will lead the pack. Iyer has been in phenomenal form and he will look to take his side to victory. Apart from the skipper, Karun Nair, Rishabh Pant and young sensation, Prithvi Shaw will look to get some runs under their belt and impress the selectors.

“These two (practice) games coming up are important for us in our preparations. We hopefully hit the ground running in the first one-dayer,” Williamson had said ahead of the game. The visitors will look to play out the spinners without much damage. The three-match ODI series will be starting on October 22.

Squad boosted with promising names

The nine members of the squad had arrived in Mumbai on Friday and they will play two practice matches. Glenn Philips, Todd Astle, Matt Henry, Henry Nicholls, Colin Munro and George Worker will join the Kiwi side at the conclusion of the India A v New Zealand A match in Visakhapatnam on Sunday.

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (Captain), Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Adam Milne, Colin Munro, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, George Worker.

Board President’s XI: Shreyas Iyer (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, Shivam Chaudhary, Karun Nair, Gurkeerat Mann, Milind Kumar, Rishabh Pant, Shahbaz Nadeem, Deepak Chahar, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jaydev Unadkat, Avesh Khan.