Karun Nair to lead India 'A' against New Zealand 'A'

Karun Nair to lead India ‘A’ against New Zealand ‘A’

Shardul Thakur included in the India 'A' after missing out on the Australian series squad

Karun Nair
Mysuru Warriors skipper Karun Nair in action. (Photo Source: KPL)

Karnataka’s premier batsman, Karun Nair, has been handed over the captaincy for the India ‘A’ side against New Zealand ‘A’. Earlier, Manish Pandey was given the captaincy for the One Day leg of the South Africa ‘A’ tour, while Nair captained the side in the four-day matches. Pandey would busy with the Indian team for the Australian series. Karun Nair is currently captaining Mysuru Warriors in the ongoing Karnataka Premier League (KPL).

The squad, venues, and schedules for the tournament was also announced by the BCCI on Sunday. Shardul Thakur, who was not included in the squad against Australia, finds his place in the India ‘A’ side. Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant would also feature in the India ‘A’ team.

Vijayawada would be hosting the two four day matches while Vishakhapatnam would be hosting the four One Day matches. For the Kiwis, Henry Nicholls would be captaining the ‘A’ team while the likes of Lockie Ferguson, Colin Munro, Matt Henry, and Ish Sodhi feature in the New Zealand ‘A’ squad. The series would commence on the 23rd of September while the last One Day match will be played on 13th October

Here’s the Schedule

NZ A tour of India schedule:

1st Four Day match – 23-26 September, Vijayawada

2nd Four Day match – 30 September-3 October, Vijayawada

1st One Day match – 6 October, Visakhapatnam

2nd One Day match – 8 October, Visakhapatnam

3rd One Day match – 10 October, Visakhapatnam

4th One Day match – 13 October, Visakhapatnam


Here are the squads

India ‘A’ squad:

Priyank Panchal, R Samarth, Sudip Chatterjee, Shreyas Iyer, Ankit Bawne, Karun Nair (Captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk), Shahbaz Nadeem, K Gowtham, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, Ankit Rajpoot

New Zealand ‘A’ squad:

Henry Nicholls (capt), Todd Astle, Tom Blundell (wk), Tom Bruce, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Scott Kuggeleijn, Colin Munro, Seth Rance, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Sean Solia, George Worker, Will Young, Jeet Raval