Kesrick Williams roped in by Rajshahi Kings for BPL 5

Kesrick Williams roped in by Rajshahi Kings for BPL 5

William picked up 17 wickets in the 13 matches that he played in CPL 2016.

Kesrick Williams CPL
Kesrick Williams. (Photo Source: CPL/Sportsfile)

After securing the services of West Indies batsman Lendl Simmons, Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) franchise Rajshahi Kings has now confirmed the signing of Caribbean seamer Kesrick Williams. Rajshahi Kings initially had a slow start in setting up their squad for the upcoming battle. They have now pulled their socks up and roped in some big names of world cricket- Luke Wright, Samit Patel, Lendl Simmons, Malcolm Waller, James Franklin in their squad of BPL T20 2017.

The right-arm pacer was part of the franchise in the last edition too. Williams put up an impressive performance last season, both with the ball and willow. Williams provided a new dynamic to the team and the board is not ready to trade it yet. He grabbed a total number of 8 wickets at an impressive economy rate of 5.65 from his 5 appearances. Hence the franchise was keen to retain him in the side for the impending edition of BPL too.

Plucked from West Indies’ domestic league, the right-hand bowler is the latest addition to their bowling attack. William exhibit a fearless and an audacious approach. His variations of seam-up and bouncers are difficult to read, and the player has enough quality to get into the wickets column emphatically.

Williams will be a clinical addition to the Rajshahi squad

The robust bowler enjoyed a successful domestic campaign but caught eyes with his scintillating performance for the Jamaica Tallawahs in the 2016 Caribbean Premier League. William picked up 17 wickets in the 13 matches he played, in the process being crowned the side’s highest wicket taker in that edition.

He will look to continue his sublime form and do an encore of his performances in the fifth edition of BPL, which is scheduled to get underway on 2 November. Eight teams will be participating in the upcoming season of the tournament. Before the kick-off, the opening ceremony will be held on 31 October.