KKR’s first-ever playing XI in IPL: Where are they now?

KKR’s first-ever playing XI in IPL: Where are they now?

The Knights hammered RCB in their opening game at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.

Brendon McCullum
Brendon McCullum. (Photo Source: Twitter)

KKR is one of the most successful IPL teams as they have won two IPL titles in 2012 and 2014 under Gautam Gambhir. KKR played the first-ever IPL game in the inaugural season in 2008. The first captain of KKR was Sourav Ganguly who was also the icon player for the franchise. There have been many records made by KKR in the IPL.

KKR scored the most runs in a powerplay in IPL when Sunil Narine and Chris Lynn hammered RCB bowlers brutally. They also hold a record of bowling out the opposition for the lowest score. Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Gautam Gambhir, and Brendon McCullum are some of the stars who represented KKR.

They also reached the 2021 IPL final but lost the game to Chennai Super Kings. The franchise has a huge fanbase and one of the reasons for their fanbase is their owner Shah Rukh Khan. KKR won the first-ever game of the league featuring an unbeaten 158 from Brendon McCullum who is currently coaching them. That game was a blockbuster.

In the article, let’s decode where are the players from KKR’s first playing 11 are now

1. Sourav Ganguly (c)

Sourav Ganguly
Sourav Ganguly. (Photo by Tom Shaw/Getty Images)

Sourav Ganguly is one of the finest batters in Indian cricket history. He is also considered the greatest left-hand batter to play for India. He was the icon player of the franchise in the first season. He was with Kolkata Knight Riders from 2008 to 2010. After KKR he got associated with Pune Warriors India, he played the 2011 and 2012 seasons for them.

He captained KKR in the first game and scored 10 runs off 12 balls opening the innings. The team had got success and also faced many highs and lows under Ganguly. He was tested positive for COVID recently and he is currently under isolation. Currently, he is the President of BCCI and looks after the happenings in the Indian cricket circuit.