KL Rahul gets his fingers under just in time to pocket Joe Root
The umpires sent it up for a recheck and Root wasn't impressed with the outcome.
Updated - Aug 19, 2018 8:35 pm
For the first time in the series, England were batting with a relatively bigger total up on the board. The Indian bowlers had their hands on the cherry pretty early on the second morning. Mohammed Shami and Jasprit Bumrah found little success with the new ball but things changed after the Tea break. When Hardik Pandya started off as the first change from one end, he struck gold immediately with the wicket of Joe Root who was caught at slip by KL Rahul.
Ishan Sharma who was introduced in the attack pretty late struck to get rid of Alastair Cook with one that was just outside his off-stump and his partner Keaton Jennings edged a wider delivery once again to keeper Rishabh Pant. They were back in the hut on consecutive deliveries and Ollie Pope followed them soon after. He decided to play at one that was really down the leg-side and India had the upper hand.
Root along with Jonny Bairstow now had to get the act together and initiate the rebuilding process. The skipper was tentative as usual at the start of his innings and Pandya bowled right on the money first up to induce an edge. It was a short of length ball just outside the off-stump and it straightened after coming in with the angle.
As it was shorter and coming into him, Root was forced to play at it. The away movement ensured it was just an edge. The question, however, wasn’t about the edge but did it carry to KL Rahul. The Indian opener standing at second slip claimed the catch immediately. He was sure it was clean just to be double sure the umpires went upstairs to confirm.
The ball bounced but did Rahul have his fingers underneath it. The TV umpire watched a lot of reviews and zoomed in on it and was convinced that the fingers were well under the ball when it bounced. It was given out and the Indians had the big wicket.
However, Root was clearly not satisfied and walked back shaking his head. He was dismissed for 16 and England were deeper in trouble four down for 86 runs.
Here is the video of the dismissal:
— Hit wicket (@sukhiaatma69) August 19, 2018