KPL 2016, Match 27 Review: Unbeatable Mysuru Warriors rout Shivammoga

KPL 2016, Match 27 Review: Unbeatable Mysuru Warriors rout Shivammoga

Rajoo Bhatkal KPL
Rajoo Bhatkal. (Photo Source: KPL)

Namma Shivamogga were knocked out of the fifth edition of KPL T20 tournament when they lost their last match of the league phase by eight wickets to Mysuru Warriors at the KSCA Stadium in Rajnagar on Friday.

It was Mysuru Warriors’ seventh straight win from as many matches and they thus topped the league table with 14 points. Namma Shivamogga who finished with six points suffered their fourth loss, and ended up sixth, just ahead of Mangalore United and Rockstars.

Mysuru’s opening batsman Rajoo Bhatkal (83 n.o; 68b, 3×6, 10×4) was declared man of the match. He blasted the bowling to all parts of the ground and made light of the target. Mysuru drew level with Shivamogga’s total of 125 when the rains came down and forced the abandonment of play. Mysuru were declared winners by the VJD method.

Earlier, put in to bat, Namma Shivamogga failed to get going. The opening stand of 42 from 34 balls between young Pradeep Gangadhar (25) and Nikin Jose (16) was their best.  Wickets fell regularly and late in the day David Mathias (26) struck a few blows to take them to a total of 125.

J Suchith and K Gowtham bagged two wickets apiece. Suchith, the Purple Cap holder, took his tally of wickets in this year’s KPL to 13.

In reply, although Mysuru lost opener Arjun Hoysala early, Bhatkal was there to see them march towards the victory mark with eight wickets in hand.

Also read – KPL 2016, Match 26 Review: Mayank Agarwal’s ton powers Belagavi Panthers into semis

Mysuru Warriors have thus made the semifinal stage and will play the second semi-final on the morrow. They await the result of the last match between Hubli Tigers and Rockstars to find out who their opponent would be. If Hubli lose, they’d finish fourth and have to take on Mysuru. Otherwise, Mysuru will clash with Bellary Tuskers on Saturday night.

Brief scores:

Namma Shivamogga: 125 for 7 in 20 overs (David Mathais 26, Pradeep Gangadhar 25, Abrar Kazi 23, J Suchith 2 /15. K Gowtam 2/12) lost to Mysuru Warriors: 125 for 2 in 16.3 overs (Rajoo Bhatkal 83 n.o, Anirudha Joshi 31) by 8 wickets on VJD method.