KPL 2016 to start with a clash between defending champs Bijapur Bulls and Rockstars

KPL 2016 to start with a clash between defending champs Bijapur Bulls and Rockstars

KPL 2016
Bijapur Bulls lift the Karbonn Smart KPL 2015 Trophy

The Karnataka Premier League (KPL) 2016 will kick off with defending champions Bijapur Bulls taking on the exceedingly popular Kiccha Sudeep-led Rock Stars team at Mysuru’s premier cricketing venue, the Srikantadatta Narasimha Raja Wadeyar Ground on September 16.

The fixtures for the much-awaited fifth edition of the Karbonn KPL tournament, widely acknowledged as the premium talent-spotting platform, was drawn on Thursday. The honour of playing the opening tie of this year’s edition went to two intense teams, Bellary Tuskers and Belagavi Panthers who will clash in the inaugural match slated for 1:30 pm. This will be followed by the Bijapur Bulls Vs. Rockstars match.

The first leg of the tournament which features a minimum of two matches each day, at 1.30 p.m. and 5.30 p.m., will be held in Mysuru from September 16 to 25. There would be an additional match at 9.30 am on Saturdays in Mysuru.

The KPL caravan then moves to the KSCA Stadium in Rajnagar, Hubbali for the second phase from September 27 to October 1 when the finals will be contested at 5:30 pm. The designated rest day for the tournament would be September 26.

Also read – KPL 2016 Auction: 219 cricketers went under the hammer

Karnataka Premier League – Fixtures
Date Day   Teams Time Venue
16-Sep-16 Friday Match 1 Bellary Tuskers vs Belagavi Panters 13:30 Mysore
    Match 2 Bijapur Bulls vs Rock Stars 17:30 Mysore
17-Sep-16 Saturday Match 3 Namma Shimovagga vs Hubli Tigers 9:30 Mysore
    Match 4 Mysuru Warriors vs Mangalore United 13:30 Mysore
    Match 5 Bijapur Bulls vs Belagavi Panters 17:30 Mysore
18-Sep-16 Sunday Match 6 Mysuru Warriors vs Rock Stars 13:30 Mysore
    Match 7 Bellary Tuskers vs  Namma Shimovagga 17:30 Mysore
19-Sep-16 Monday Match 8 Hubli Tigers  vs  Bijapur Bulls 13:30 Mysore
    Match 9 Mangalore United  vs Rock Stars 17:30 Mysore
20-Sep-16 Tuesday Match 10 Namma Shimovagga vs  Belagavi Panters 13:30 Mysore
    Match 11 Bellary Tuskers  vs Hubli Tigers 17:30 Mysore
21-Sep-16 Wednesday Match 12 Bijapur Bulls  vs Mangalore United 13:30 Mysore
    Match 13 Bellary Tuskers vs Mysuru Warriors 17:30 Mysore
22-Sep-16 Thursday Match 14 Belagavi Panters  vs Hubli Tigers 13:30 Mysore
    Match 15 Namma Shimovagga vs Mangalore United 17:30 Mysore
23-Sep-16 Friday Match 16 Rock Stars vs Bellary Tuskers 13:30 Mysore
    Match 17 Mysuru Warriors vs Bijapur Bulls 17:30 Mysore
24-Sep-16 Saturday Match 18 Mangalore United vs Bellary Tuskers 9:30 Mysore
    Match 19 Bijapur Bulls vs Namma Shimovagga 13:30 Mysore
    Match 20 Mysuru Warriors vs Belagavi Panters 17:30 Mysore
25-Sep-16 Sunday Match 21 Hubli Tigers vs Mangalore United 13:30 Mysore
    Match 22 Namma Shimovagga vs Rock Stars 17:30 Mysore
26-Sep-16 Monday Rest day REST DAY    
27-Sep-16 Tuesday Match 23 Rock Stars vs  Belagavi Panters 13:30 Hubli
    Match 24 Hubli Tigers vs  Mysuru Warriors 17:30 Hubli
28-Sep-16 Wednesday Match 25 Bijapur Bulls vs Bellary Tuskers 13:30 Hubli
    Match 26 Mangalore United vs  Belagavi Panters 17:30 Hubli
29-Sep-16 Thursday Match 27 Mysuru Warriors vs Namma Shimovagga 13:30 Hubli
    Match 28 Hubli Tigers vs Rock Stars 17:30 Hubli
30-Sep-16 Friday Match 29 Semi-Final-1 13:30 Hubli
    Match 30 Semi-Final-2 17:30 Hubli
1-Oct-16 Saturday Match 31 Finals 17:30 Hubli