IPL Orange Cap Winners | Orange Cap Winners List from 2008 to 2023

David Warner has won the Orange Cap thrice.

David Warner SRH
David Warner SRH. (Photo Source: Twitter)

View : 1.3K

19 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

Indian cricket took a huge step forward after making the historic announcement of the Indian Premier League (IPL) in 2008. In many ways, it has revolutionized the way we earlier looked at the format and has provided ample opportunities for youngsters in the nation to make a name for themselves. Fans of the nation treat the lavish event like a festival and showcase their affection for their favourite franchises in abundance.
Similarly, cricketers participating in the event look to put their best foot forward and display fine performances. The top-tier league has always valued achievements of every individual and awarded them for their exhilarating performances. Notably, some of the awards that feature in the league are- Orange Cap, Purple Cap, Player of the Match, Game-Changing Moment, Player of the Series, Emerging Player of the Year, Fair Play Award, Maximum Sixes Award, Most Valuable Player, among others. 

Batter’s Dream Award in IPL

One of the renowned recognitions in the league is the Orange Cap which is bestowed on the batters. It is an award given to a batter for scoring the most runs in the lucrative T20 league, every season. Notably, a player dons a temporary orange cap while fielding during the course of the competition while in contention for the award.
It keeps rotating till the very end of the season and the award is handed officially during the post-match presentation of the summit clash of the league. Former Kiwi star batter, Brendon McCullum was the first player who got the opportunity to wear the orange cap and Shaun Marsh was the first player who won the award in the first edition of the IPL.

The Orange Cap Saga

From Sachin Tendulkar to Chris Gayle, numerous top-drawer cricketers have been awarded the IPL Orange Cap. Interestingly, David Warner is the only player with three Orange Cap - 2015, 2017, and 2019. Whereas, ‘The Universe Boss’ Chris Gayle has won the Orange Cap twice in his IPL journey in 2011 and 2012.
The only uncapped player to have ever clinched the award was Australia’s Shaun Marsh in 2008 at the age of 24. With four blistering tons, Virat Kohli is the only batter with the most runs scored among the Orange Cap holders (in a single season) as he scored a record 973 runs in a single IPL season. 

List of Orange Cap Winners in IPL:-

2008 Shaun Marsh 616 KXIP
2009 Matthew Hayden 572 CSK
2010 Sachin Tendulkar 618 MI
2011 Chris Gayle 608 RCB
2012 Chris Gayle 733 RCB
2013 Michael Hussey 733 CSK
2014 Robin Uthappa 660 KKR
2015 David Warner 562 SRH
2016 Virat Kohli 973 RCB
2017 David Warner 641 SRH
2018 Kane Williamson 735 SRH
2019 David Warner 692 SRH
2020 KL Rahul 670 KXIP
2021 Ruturaj Gaikwad 635 CSK
2022 Jos Buttler  863 RR

*Last Updated on 16th March 2023