IPL Purple Cap Winners | Purple Cap Winners List from 2008 to 2023

Gujarat Titans' seamer Mohammed Shami bagged the Purple Cap in 2023, picking 28 wickets in 16 games.

View : 15.1K

22 Min Read

Mohammed Shami IPL 2023 Purple Cap Winner
Mohammed Shami IPL 2023 Purple Cap Winner (Photo Source: BCCI/IPL)

Since the inception of the Indian Premier League in 2008, fans have been treated to some spectacular bowling performances throughout the entirety of the competition. The Purple Cap is bestowed to the bowlers with the most wickets after the conclusion of the tournament while it regularly changes hands during the matches.

It is the biggest honour for any bowlers participating in the illustrious tournament, as it showcases consistency and wicket-tacking ability, the most tangible factor, in the shortest format of the game. The 16th edition of the tournament has been no different, as it has witnessed some memorable bowling performances.

Bowler’s Dream Award in IPL

Similar to IPL Orange Cap that rewards batters, it has been a hard-fought contest between the bowlers to get their hands on the elusive prize (purple cap) with veteran Indian pacer Mohammed Shami fighting tooth and nail to thwart Gujarat Titans teammate Rashid Khan. Last year's Purple Cap winner Yuzvendra Chahal has also been in the mix of things, charting unprecedented heights by becoming the leading wicket-taker in the competition's history.

After the conclusion of the Finals of the IPL, the Purple Cap is formally presented to the player with most wickets scalped in the season. It rotates till the conclusion of the season, and the honour is formally presented during the post-match presentation of the league’s Final.

The Purple Cap Saga

Pakistan’s Sohail Tanvir was the first bowler to be awarded the Purple Cap in 2008. In the particular season, he took 22 wickets in 11 matches for Rajasthan Royals. Bhuvneshwar Kumar is the only bowler among the list of winners of the Purple Cap to have won it consecutively in 2016 and 2017.

With 32 wickets, Dwayne Bravo and Harshal Patel hold the record for scalping the most wickets in a single season of the IPL. RP Singh in 2009 became the first Indian cricketer to have won the award for Deccan Chargers (now defunct). Yuzvendra Chahal held the cap in 2022 as he got 27 wickets in 17 matches for Rajasthan Royals.    

In the recent-most edition of the IPL, Gujarat Titans seamer Mohammed Shami bagged the honour, scalping 28 wickets in the season at an average of 17 and an economy of seven in 16 matches.

List of Purple Cap Winners in IPL (2008-2023)

2008 Sohail Tanvir Rajasthan Royals 22
2009 RP Singh Deccan Chargers 23
2010 Pragyan Ojha Deccan Chargers 21
2011 Lasith Malinga Mumbai Indians 28
2012 Morne Morkel Delhi Daredevils 25
2013 Dwayne Bravo Chennai Super Kings 32
2014 Mohit Sharma Chennai Super Kings 23
2015 Dwayne Bravo Chennai Super Kings 26
2016 Bhuvneshwar Kumar Sunrisers Hyderabad 23
2017 Bhuvneshwar Kumar Sunrisers Hyderabad 26
2018 Andrew Tye Kings XI Punjab 24
2019 Imran Tahir Chennai Super Kings 26
2020 Kagiso Rabada Delhi Capitals 30
2021 Harshal Patel Royal Challengers Bangalore 32
2022 Yuzvendra Chahal Rajasthan Royals 27
2023 Mohammed Shami Gujarat Titans 28

*Last Updated 30th May 2023

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store