IPL Orange Cap Winners | Orange Cap Winners List from 2008 to 2023

Shubman Gill won the Orange Cap in the 2023 season with 890 runs to his credit in 17 matches.

View : 20.6K

21 Min Read

Shubman Gill IPL Orange Cap 2023 Winner
Shubman Gill IPL Orange Cap 2023 Winner

The introduction of the IPL has opened new pathways for cricketers in the country, especially the batters, as it allowed them to play with the freedom, previously unknown to the cricketing fraternity. The top-drawer competition bestows the most prolific run scorer of the tournament with the Orange Cap after the conclusion of the IPL final.

It is always a hard-fought contest between the batters to topple each other in the race for the leading run scorer in the tournament, scaling monumental records in the process. The 16th edition of the tournament has also seen a feisty contest between the batters, as the Orange Cap has often exchanged owners in the marquee event.

Batter’s Dream Award in IPL

While the Gujarat Titans' bowlers like Mohammed Shami and Rashid Khan are playing their heart out to bag the IPL Purple Cap, the 2023 edition of the cash-rich league is witnessing their teammate Shubman Gill continue his purple patch with the bat. The promising Indian opener has laid a marker in the tournament, consistently delivering the goods at the top of the order for the Ahmedabad-based franchise.

The veteran Protean batter had Rajasthan Royals' young Indian dasher Yashasvi Jaiswal hot on his tail for the majority of the tournament. The southpaw delivered some awe-evoking performances for his side, drawing the attention of the Indian selectors. While Proteas and Royal Challengers Bangalore skipper Faf du Plessis also delivered some of the best performances throughout his season.

The Orange Cap Saga

From Sachin Tendulkar to Chris Gayle, numerous top-drawer cricketers have been awarded the IPL Orange Cap. Interestingly, David Warner is the only player with three Orange Cap - 2015, 2017, and 2019. Whereas, ‘The Universe Boss’ Chris Gayle has won the Orange Cap twice in his IPL journey in 2011 and 2012.

The only uncapped player to have ever clinched the award was Australia’s Shaun Marsh in 2008 at the age of 24. With four blistering tons, Virat Kohli is the only batter with the most runs scored among the Orange Cap holders (in a single season) as he scored a record 973 runs in a single IPL season. 

List of Orange Cap Winners in IPL (2008-2023)

2008 Shaun Marsh 616 KXIP
2009 Matthew Hayden 572 CSK
2010 Sachin Tendulkar 618 MI
2011 Chris Gayle 608 RCB
2012 Chris Gayle 733 RCB
2013 Michael Hussey 733 CSK
2014 Robin Uthappa 660 KKR
2015 David Warner 562 SRH
2016 Virat Kohli 973 RCB
2017 David Warner 641 SRH
2018 Kane Williamson 735 SRH
2019 David Warner 692 SRH
2020 KL Rahul 670 KXIP
2021 Ruturaj Gaikwad 635 CSK
2022 Jos Buttler  863 RR
2023 Shubman Gill 890 GT

*Last Updated 30th May 2023

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store