LPL 2020: Match 1, COL vs KAN – High-scoring start to the league, Kusal Perera's T20 best and more stats

LPL 2020: Match 1, COL vs KAN – High-scoring start to the league, Kusal Perera’s T20 best and more stats

Here are all statistical highlights from the high-scoring thriller between the Colombo Kings and Kandy Tuskers.

Isuru Udana
Isuru Udana. (Photo Source: LPL/Twitter)

The Lanka Premier League (LPL) began with a thrilling Tie between the Colombo Kings and Kandy Tuskers during the tournament opener. Rahmanullah Gurbaz smashed a 22-ball 53 while their skipper Kusal Perera made 87 from 52 balls to help Kandy team finish with 219/3. Dinesh Chandimal hit 80 from only 46 balls as Colombo cruised to 129/1 in only 12 overs.

The equation became tough for the Kings as only 39 runs came in the next five overs for the loss of five wickets. But Isuru Udana (34* off 12) and Qais Ahmad (15 off 8) added 48 runs for the 7th wicket in only 2.5 overs to take the game into Super Over. Colombo Kings made 16 runs in the Super Over while Kandy Tuskers could only get 12 despite them hitting a four and a six during the first three balls itself.

Here are all statistical highlights from the high-scoring thriller between the Colombo Kings and Kandy Tuskers:

A high-scoring Tie:

438 – The 438 runs during COL vs KAN game makes it the 2nd highest aggregated Tied match in the history of Twenty20 cricket. A total of 462 runs were scored by Warwickshire (231/5) and Northamptonshire (231/5) in Birmingham during the 2018 T20 Blast.

15 – The game between Colombo Kings and Kandy Tuskers is the 15th tied Twenty20 match in Sri Lanka but as many as 11 of them took place in Colombo city. The two tied matches during 2012 WT20 were hosted by Pallekele while the tied domestic T20 game in 2018 between Tamil Union and Galle CC was played at the FTZ Sports Complex in Katunayake.

A rare high-scoring game in Sri Lanka:

438 – The 438 runs collectively scored by the Kings and Tuskers during the tournament opener are the 3rd most number of runs aggregated during a Twenty20 game on Sri Lankan soil.

As many as 449 runs were recorded during the domestic T20 game between Colts CC and Colombo CC in 2016 at the Colombo’s NCC Ground while a total of 438 runs were aggregated during the 2016 Pallekele T20I between Sri Lanka and Australia.

Perera and Chandimal move to top:

15 – Kusal Perera’s 87-run knock is his 15th half-century in the Twenty20 format on Sri Lankan soil. No player in T20 cricket has scored as many fifties as Kusal in Sri Lanka thus far.

In terms of fifty-plus scores in T20s on the Sri Lankan soil, Perera shares the top spot along with Tillakaratne Dilshan (1 ton, 14 50s), Upul Tharanga (2 tons, 13 50s), Mahela Udawatte (1 ton, 14 50s) and also Dinesh Chandimal (1 ton, 14 50s) after his 80-run knock during the chase.

87 – Kusal Perera’s 87 during COL vs KAN is now his highest individual score in the T20 format surpassing his previous best of 84 on two different instances. Perera’s 87 is also the highest individual T20 score recorded in Hambantota going past Faf du Plessis’ 85 during the 2013 T20I against Sri Lanka.

Gurbaz starts with a bang:

21 – Rahmanullah Gurbaz brought up his fifty in only 21 balls; his 2nd fastest in the Twenty20 format. Gurbaz’s fastest T20 fifty came in only 18 balls during his debut game in the 2019-20 Bangladesh Premier League. He has seven fifties in the T20 format thus far and four of them were brought up in less than 25 deliveries.

90.57 – Gurbaz scored 90.57% of his runs through boundaries in the COL vs KAN game as he struck six fours and four maximums during his 53-run knock. Only three 50+ scores in the T20 format by Afghanistan players have had a higher boundary runs % than Gurbaz in the LPL opener; all the three knocks recorded by Hazratullah Zazai only.

Also Read

Chameera goes for plenty:

58 – Dushmantha Chameera conceded a total of 58 runs in his four overs and picked the wicket of Kusal Perera. These are the joint 2nd most runs conceded in any T20 game on Sri Lankan soil. The highest was 59 runs by Usman Ishak in only three overs while playing for Colombo CC against Colts CC in the 2016 Domestic T20 competition.

T20 cricket returns to Hambantota:

2013 – Hambantota’s Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium has hosted a T20 game after a long gap of seven years. The venue has hosted seven T20 matches before the Lanka Premier League; all being T20Is between 2012 and 2013.