Matthew Hayden and Sachin Tendulkar to open the batting in Jake Ball’s all-time XI

Matthew Hayden and Sachin Tendulkar to open the batting in Jake Ball’s all-time XI

Jake Ball
Jake Ball and James Anderson during England nets session ahead of the 1st Investec Test. (Photo by Mitchell Gunn/Getty Images)

Jake Ball, the latest entrant in the England lineup is all set to make his Test debut today in the home series against Pakistan. Earlier, Ball was called up for the series against Sri Lanka but didn’t make his debut.

Ball’s all-time XI was revealed with a video posted by Lord’s Cricket Ground’s official YouTube account and as always the selection was based on the fact that the player should have played with or against the cricketer or influenced him.

Attacking opening batsman from Australia, Matthew Hayden and Indian batting legend Sachin Tendulkar have their pads on for the opening slot, followed by Ricky Ponting at no.3, who is one of the better cricketers of the highly talented Australian side in the late 90s.

Star batsman from South Africa, ‘Mr. 360’ – AB de Villiers makes his way to the squad with his ability to be consistent in all three versions of the game. He calls Joe Root as the “exceptional talent”, who is at no.5. Jacques Kallis, one of the best all-rounder’s, is included in the squad as he is one of the all-round best players he has seen.

Also read – I want to have an excellent series: Devendra Bishoo

A bit of a surprise for the one who takes the gloves – it is Chris Read, the captain of Nottinghamshire County Cricket Club.  Shane Warne and Muttiah Muralitharan will lead the spin bowling department, who are the ever best spin bowlers the cricketing world had ever witnessed. He calls for Glenn McGrath to take the new ball, who is an inspiration for him from the younger days and Dale Steyn of South Africa will be his bowling partner.

The bowling department is a good blend of leg-spinner, off-spinner, and two different pacers.

Jake Ball’s All Time-XI: Matthew Hayden, Sachin Tendulkar, Ricky Ponting, AB de Villiers, Joe Root, Jacques Kallis, Chris Read (wk), Shane Warne, Glenn McGrath, Dale Steyn, Muttiah Muralitharan.