MI vs KKR Head-to-Head Record in IPL History

Mumbai Indians have had a wood over KKR since the inception of the IPL with 23 wins out of 32 matches.

View : 2.6K

85 Min Read

Mumbai Indians
Mumbai Indians. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

There are certain matches in the Indian Premier League where there is an added spice of the previous rivalry between the two teams competing in the game. One of those clashes is the MI vs KKR game which always attracts a lot of fans and has a lot of anticipation before the start. But it is also one of the most one-sided clashes in the history of any T20 competition ever.Both KKR and MI were not performed well in last season of the IPL 2022. In the upcoming season, both teams will lock horns on April 16 at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

MI vs KKR Head to Head:

In the 32 matches both sides have clashed so far, Mumbai Indians are leading ahead with staggering 23 wins while Kolkata has only 9 victories.

Matches Played MI Won KKR Won Tie No Result
32 23 9 0 0

All-Time Top Performers:

In the matches played between MI and KKR in IPL, MI captain Rohit Sharma has scored the most runs (924) followed by Suryakumar Yadav (523) and Gautam Gambhir (349). Rohit scored his only IPL century against KKR in 2012 at Eden Gardens. In the bowling department, Sunil Narine has been most successful with 23 wickets so far, followed by Lasith Malinga and Jasprit Bumrah (20 each) and Andre Russell (13).

Mumbai vs Kolkata Last Meeting:

MI and KKR last met in Match No. 22 of IPL 2023 at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai where MI defeated the Knight Riders by a margin of five wickets. Venkatesh Iyer slammed a brilliant century (104 off 51) as KKR reached a solid total of 185/6 in their allotted 20 overs. In reply, Ishan Kishan scored 58 while stand-in captain Suryakumar Yadav racked up 43 as the home side completed the chase in 17.4 overs.

Mumbai vs Kolkata in All Seasons Stats:

Date Winner Won By Venue
16-Apr-2023 Mumbai Indians 5 wickets Mumbai
9-May-2022 Kolkata Knight Riders 52 runs Mumbai
6-Apr-2022 Kolkata Knight Riders 5 wickets Pune
23-Sept-2021 Kolkata Knight Riders 7 Wickets Abu Dhabi
13-Apr-2021 Mumbai Indians 8 Runs Chennai
16-Oct-2020 Mumbai Indians 8 Wickets Abu Dhabi
23-Sep-2020 Mumbai Indians 49 Runs Abu Dhabi
5-May-2019 Mumbai Indians 9 Wickets Mumbai
28-Apr-2019 Kolkata Knight Riders 34 Runs Kolkata
9-May-2018 Mumbai Indians 102 Runs Kolkata
6-May-2018 Mumbai Indians 13 Runs Mumbai
19-May-2017 Mumbai Indians 7 Wickets Bengaluru
13-May-2017 Mumbai Indians 9 Runs Kolkata
9-Apr-2017 Mumbai Indians 4 Wickets Mumbai
28-Apr-2016 Mumbai Indians 6 Wickets Mumbai
13-Apr-2016 Mumbai Indians 6 Wickets Kolkata
14-May-2015 Mumbai Indians 5 Runs Mumbai
8-Apr-2015 Kolkata Knight Riders 7 Wickets Kolkata
16-May-2014 Kolkata Knight Riders 41 Runs Abu Dhabi
14-May-2014 Kolkata Knight Riders 6 Wickets Cuttack
7-May-2013 Mumbai Indians 65 Runs Mumbai
24-Apr-2013 Mumbai Indians 5 Wickets Kolkata
16-May-2012 Kolkata Knight Riders 32 Runs Mumbai
12-May-2012 Mumbai Indians 27 Runs Kolkata
25-May-2011 Mumbai Indians 4 Wickets Mumbai
22-May-2011 Mumbai Indians 5 Wickets Kolkata
19-Apr-2010 Kolkata Knight Riders 9 Wickets Kolkata
22-Mar-2010 Mumbai Indians 7 Wickets Mumbai (BS)
1-May-2009 Mumbai Indians 9 Runs East London
27-April-2009 Mumbai Indians 92 Runs Port Elizabeth
16-May-2008 Mumbai Indians 8 Wickets Mumbai
29-April-2008 Mumbai Indians 7 Wickets Kolkata

Last Updated: 16 April, 2023.

For all the latest IPL news, live scores, schedule, point table & updates, stay tuned to CricTracker.

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store