RCB vs MI Head to Head Record in IPL History

Mumbai Indians edge RCB with 18 victories out of the 32 games played in the IPL

View : 4.8K

85 Min Read

Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli
Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Mumbai Indians (MI) have completely dominated the Indian Premier League in the last few years. The side has won 5 titles in the last 10 years. All these title wins have come under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma. On the other hand, RCB was captained by Indian skipper Virat Kohli in the IPL till the 2021 edition. From 2022, they appointed a new skipper in the form of Faf du Plessis since Virat decided to quit the captaincy. In the upcoming sixteenth season, both powerhouses will begin their respective campagin by facing each other on April 02, 2023 at M.Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore and in reverse fixture on May 09 at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

In the 32 games both sides have played against each other so far, 18 have been won by Mumbai Indians while Royal Challengers Bangalore have won the rest 13. In the last 10 games, MI have been over the top with 6 wins while losing four matches.

Matches Played MI Won RCB Won Tied No Result
32 18 14 0 0

All-Time Top Performers:

Among the batters, the two stalwarts of RCB, Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers have been magnificent while playing against Mumbai Indians. Virat has scored 770 runs followed by AB de Villiers (693) in the MIvsRCB games in IPL. For Mumbai, skipper Rohit Sharma (573) and Kieron Pollard (551) are the two top run-getters.

Among the bowlers, Jasprit Bumrah (24) and Yuzvendra Chahal (22) have picked up the most wickets. The duo is followed by Harbhajan Singh (18) when these two sides have clashed in the tournament.

Bangalore vs Mumbai in Last Seasons:

Both teams last met in the 54th match of IPL 2023 at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. RCB batted first  Glenn Maxwell (68) and Faf du Plessis (65) helped  RCB to post 199 in 20 overs, In response to 199 Suryakumar Yadav (83) and Nehal Wadhera (52*) helped to chasing in 200 in 16.3 overs and eventually MI won by 6 wickets.

Bangalore vs Mumbai in All Seasons Stats:

Date Winner Won by Venue
09-May-2023 Mumbai Indians  6 Wickets Mumbai
02-April-2023 Royal Challengers Bangalore 8 Wickets


09-April-2022 Royal Challengers Bangalore 7 Wickets Pune
26-Sept-2021 Royal Challengers Bangalore 54 Runs Dubai
09-April-2021 Royal Challengers Bangalore 2 Wickets Chennai
28-Oct-20 Mumbai Indians 5 Wickets Abu Dhabi
28-Sep-2020 Royal Challengers Bangalore Super Over Dubai
15-April-2019 Mumbai Indians 5 Wickets Mumbai
28-Mar-2019 Mumbai Indians 6 Runs Bengaluru
1-May-2018 Royal Challengers Bangalore 14 Runs Bengaluru
17-April-2018 Mumbai Indians 46 Runs Mumbai
14-April-2017 Mumbai Indians 4 Wickets Bengaluru
1-April-2017 Mumbai Indians 5 Wickets Mumbai
11-May-2016 Mumbai Indians 6 Wickets Bengaluru
20-Apr-2016 Mumbai Indians 6 Wickets Mumbai
10-May-2015 Royal Challengers Bangalore 39 Runs Mumbai
19-April-2015 Mumbai Indians 18 Runs Bengaluru
6-May-2014 Mumbai Indians 19 Runs Mumbai
19-April-2014 Royal Challengers Bangalore 7 Wickets Dubai
27-April-2013 Mumbai Indians 58 Runs Mumbai
4-April-2013 Royal Challengers Bangalore 2 Runs Bengaluru
14-May-2012 Mumbai Indians 5 Wickets Bengaluru
9-May-2012 Royal Challengers Bangalore 9 Wickets Mumbai
27-May-2011 Royal Challengers Bangalore 43 Runs Chennai
12-April-2011 Mumbai Indians 9 Wickets Bengaluru
21-Apr-2010 Mumbai Indians 35 Runs Mumbai (DY)
17-April-2010 Mumbai Indians 57 Runs Bengaluru
20-March-2010 Royal Challengers Bangalore 7 Wickets Mumbai (BS)
10-May-2009 Mumbai Indians 16 Runs Port Elizabeth
3-May-2009 Royal Challengers Bangalore 9 Wickets Johannesburg
28-May-2008 Mumbai Indians 9 Wickets Bengaluru
20-April-2008 Royal Challengers Bangalore 5 Wickets Mumbai

*Last Updated: 9th May 2023.

Get IPL 2023 Live Score along with the latest IPL News, Schedule, IPL Points Table, & Stats Updates on CricTracker.

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store