Mohammad Amir, Babar Azam and Shadab Khan all set to play T10 Cricket League

Kerala Kings are interested in getting the signatures of the Pakistani trio.

Babar Azam of Pakistan
Babar Azam of Pakistan leaves the filed after being dismissed. (Photo by Francois Nel/Getty Images)

When the T10 Cricket League (TCL) was announced, many were in a dilemma over the cricketers’ participation in the league. But the management has done a great job by roping in some of the retired legends, like Virender Sehwag and Shahid Afridi, and some of the world famous cricketers who are plying their trade in the current times as well, like Chris Gayle and Eoin Morgan.

Now, the popularity of the league is surely expected to soar, as the majestic Pakistani trio are all set to feature in the league. Speedster Mohammad Amir, batsman Babar Azam and spinner Shadab Khan – the three most vital members of the current team of Sarfraz Ahmed, are likely to don the jersey of Kerala Kings in the tournament. The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has formally agreed to allow their centrally contracted players to play in the tournament scheduled to be held in United Arab Emirates (UAE).


“It is quite likely that after the confirmed list of the PCB contracted players are released officially, we will be lining up the in-form Babar Azam and perhaps Mohammed Amir or allrounder Shadab Khan if they have not been lined up as top bracket players elsewhere. We want to be able to provide our fans with a great four nights out at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium in December,” said the co-owner of the Kerala Kings side, Hussein Adam Ali, according to reports in Khaleej Times.

“Kerala Kings have made their intentions very clear on getting the best possible players especially from such a rich pool of highly talented limited overs players. Pakistan with their series against Sri Lanka in the UAE in the final limited overs stages, have put up sterling shows in the abridged versions lately and this has come to be of a great advantage in our choice making process along with our skipper Eoin Morgan,” the chairman and competition founder of TCL, Shafi Ul Mulk.

Draft to be held on 5th November

The date is finalised. It is the 5th of November when the six TCL teams, namely Kerala Kings, Maratha Arabians, Punjab Legends, Colombo Lions, Pakhtoons and Bangla Tigers will get to pick their favourite players from an extravagant pool of talented cricketers and retired greats. Except the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), every other cricket board of a Test playing nation has agreed to allow their centrally contracted players to appear in the ‘one of a kind’ tournament.