Most Sixes in Indian Premier League History

Most Sixes in Indian Premier League History

The Indian Premier League has in its 6 years produced some exemplary action as it sees all big players and not so big from around the world gather for the celebration of cricket once every year. It gives everyone an opportunity to make a mark and name in the Cricketing fraternity. Is the reason it draws so much attention and support, every player is very excited to play in the IPL. T20 allows batsmen to cut loose and as they have the license we see some real mighty powerful hitting in the IPL games all this leads to us making this section the Most Sixes in Indian Premier League History.

Sixes are kind of easy and quick run scoring method for all these big hitters so they hit them in plenty. Sometimes it’s the need of the hour or rather the effortlessness of the batsman. There are players, who hit sixes rely on power, some raw power, using the bottom hand the long handle. Then there are some who don’t believe in using power just timing and the ball lands back into the stands.(also read Top 5 most economical bowlers in IPL)

The distance of the hits are growing more and more every day the bats that the batsmen use have changes so has the style. The ball now lands five six seven rows into the stands sometimes on the second, third tear and if the batsman is a Chris Gayle or a MS Dhoni it goes right out of the park out of sight, and the stadium.

Let’s take a look at the players who have hit the most sixes in the Indian Domestic T20 League the Most Sixes in Indian Premier League History. Which includes international stars like Chris Gayle, Adam Gilchrist, Shane Watson to Indian biggie’s like MS Dhoni, Yuvraj Singh, V Sehwag to the youngistan player of the young Indian squad Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Yusuf Pathan, V Kohli. Take a look who is at what position in the countdown of the players with Most Sixes in Indian Premier League History.

 List of Top 10 players with most sixes in IPL :

Name Team Seasons 6s Matches Runs
Chris Gayle KKR, RCB 2009-2014 192 68 2708
Suresh Raina CSK 2008-2014 134 115 3325
Rohit Sharma DC, MI 2008-2014 126 112 2903
Yusuf Pathan RR, KKR 2008-2014 115 106 2088
Yuvraj Singh KXIP, PWI, RCB 2008-2014 110 84 1851
MS Dhoni CSK 2008-2014 109 112 2614
Virendra Sehwag DD, KXIP 2008-2014 103 96 2629
Shane Watson RR 2008-2014 95 68 2025
Adam Gilchrist DC, KXIP 2008-2013 92 80 2069
Robin Uthappa MI, PWI, RCB, KKR 2008-2014 89 107 2632

*All stats updated till 16th February 2015.