MS Dhoni errs in DRS judgement; Jason Roy gets a relief and England benefit

In Indian cricket circles, DRS is referred to as Dhoni Review System but he seems to be a bit off the mark in this tournament.

Jason Roy
Jason Roy. (Photo Source: Twitter)

India wicketkeeper MS Dhoni has made a special place for himself with his impeccable instincts. The 37-year-old is a major pillar for his captain Virat Kohli when it comes to anticipating dismissals from behind the stumps – be it a leg before or nick. However, on Sunday, Dhoni had a big fall from the high pedestal when he erred in judging a caught behind chance given by Jason Roy in the high-voltage clash against England at Edgbaston.

It was in the 11th over when Hardik Pandya was bowling after the hosts were off to a good start. Roy, who looked in good form in the initial part of the World Cup but had an injury stint to miss out in between only to return to the team on Sunday. He gave a solid start to England along with his opening partner Jonny Bairstow. As Hardik bowled him the fifth delivery of the over which went down the leg, Roy tried a shot on the on side but only ended up touching the ball with his gloves’ under edge.


The bowler went up in appeal as Dhoni caught the ball but he hesitated to refer to the DRS. Captain Virat Kohli also did not go for it since Dhoni did not show intent. The umpire, Aleem Dar, had turned down the appeal and in fact, gave a wide.

TV replays later showed that the batsman had indeed touched the ball and had India reviewed it, he would have been back in the pavilion. Roy had eventually departed when substitute fielder Ravindra Jadeja took a stunning catch but by then, the batsman had scored 66 and England’s run was 160 in just 22.1 overs.

Dhoni made an error in judgement vs Pakistan as well

Dhoni had made a similar error in the game against Pakistan at Old Trafford on June 16 when he failed to sense the ball hitting batsman Babar Azam in his pads before touching the bat. The delivery off a spinner was well on its way to crash into the stumps and even Kohli was sure that it was an lbw chance. But seeing Dhoni not showing much interest, he decided not to go for it and India gave their opponents a relief, though a temporary one.