MS Dhoni makes another brilliant DRS call

On the 6th ball of the 33rd over umpire deemed Bumrah out lbw.

MS Dhoni review
MS Dhoni review. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The Sri Lankan team was all over India, majorly because they made some really good Decision Review System (DRS) calls. They got the very first wicket of Shikhar Dhawan after Angelo Mathews thought the umpire hadn’t made the right decision and the Lankans asked the TV umpire to review it, he was hit in front and thus sent back. But Team India got one in their favour as well courtesy MS Dhoni’s brilliance at the non-striker’s end.

On the 6th ball of the 33rd over left-arm spinner, Sachith Pathirana hit Team India’s No.9 Jasprit Bumrah on the back pad. The umpire Anil Chaudhary thought the appeal was legitimate and ruled it out. But even before he could get his arm over his head completing the counter-clockwise movement Dhoni had already asked for a review.


Bumrah was already on his way towards the square leg umpire and had to be stopped. Standing right next to the umpire the former Indian skipper had a great view of stumps and where the ball hit the batter. The referral was successful as the ball-tracking showed the ball had pitched and hit the batsman outside the off-stump. Thus it saved Bumrah’s wicket.

The Indian total was 87/8 at that stage and they went on to post 112 in 38.2 overs. Earlier they were in all sorts of troubles as the top order failed completely to negotiate the moving ball. At Dharamsala, the pitch looked like a first day Nottinghamshire track as per the commentators. The Lankan seamers were spot on with their lines as well as lengths and constantly challenged the Indian batsmen who displayed no survival skills.

Only three players managed to get into the double figures and it was Dhoni’s half century that helped the team get over the 100-run mark. He scored 65 off 87 balls with the help of 10 boundaries and a couple of sixes.

Watch the video of the review here

Here is how Twitterati reacted to Dhoni’s DRS call: