MSL T20 2018: Match 27, Cape Town Blitz vs Durban Heat, Match Prediction: Who will win the Match?

The match is nothing, but a dead rubber.

Quinton de Kock
Quinton de Kock. (Photo by Carl Fourie/Gallo Images)

Cape Town Blitz and Durban Heat have had contrasting seasons in this year’s Mzansi Super League (MSL). The Blitz, captained by Farhaan Behardien, are sitting pretty at the top of the points table with six wins from nine matches. They would now hope to win the next match against Durban Heat tomorrow at Newlands in Cape Town and make a direct entry into the final on Sunday, December 16.

The Blitz won their last match against Paarl Rocks by six wickets at the same venue and would be brimming with confidence. The Heat, on the contrary, are languishing at the bottom of the points table, having won a solitary match and their campaign is all, but over. However, they would be keen to put their best foot forward with a couple of wins and end the season on a positive note.



The track has been good for batting throughout the tournament. But the bowlers have also had their say as they have bent their back. The overs within the fielding restrictions can turn out to be crucial as the ball would be hard and new. Teams would want to chase on the strip after winning the toss.

Team Combination

Cape Town Blitz

The experienced Quinton de Kock and Janneman Malan will open the batting with Dawid Malan to follow. The middle order has the likes of Asif Ali and skipper Behardien, both of whom can step on the gas when required. The onus would also be on Andile Phehlukwayo and Mohammad Nawaz, the two all-rounders. Veteran speedster Dale Steyn would lead the bowling attack.

Probable XI

Quinton de Kock (wk), Janneman Malan, Dawid Malan, Asif Ali, Farhaan Behardien (C), Andile Phehlukwayo, Mohammad Nawaz, Ferisco Adams, Dale Steyn, Malusi Siboto, Nandre Burger

Durban Heat

Sarel Erwee was impressive the other night against Jozi Stars and he would open with wicketkeeper Morne van Wyk. Temba Bavuma would bat at number three with Khaya Zondo and David Miller to come at four and five respectively. A lot would depend on how Rashid Khan bowls. All in all, skipper Albie Morkel has a challenging task of keeping his team’s head high.

Probable XI

Sarel Erwee, Morne van Wyk (wk), Temba Bavuma, Khaya Zondo, David Miller, Albie Morkel (C), Keshav Maharaj, Rashid Khan, Kyle Abbott, Merchant de Lange, Tladi Bokako

Probable Top Performers

Dale Steyn- Cape Town Blitz, Rashid Khan- Durban Heat

Broadcast Details

Live Streaming – Sony LIV

Match Timings – 19:00 IST; 15:30 local

The prediction is for the Blitz to win the encounter.