MSL T20 2018, Match 30, Tshwane Spartans vs Durban Heat, Match Prediction: Who will win the match?

Both teams placed at the bottom half of the table.

Rashid Khan
Rashid Khan. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Tshwane Spartans’ campaign in the Mzansi Super League (MSL) came to an end after losing against Jozi Stars. Their next match against Durban Heat at SuperSport Park in Durban is nothing, but a dead rubber. They have won matches here and there, but couldn’t climb their way up the points table. AB de Villiers, their captain, also couldn’t perform to expectations after their opening match.

The Heat, on the contrary, are languishing at the bottom of the table with a couple of victories from nine matches. They turned over Cape Town Blitz, but are set to end as the cellar dwellers even if they manage to beat the Spartans. Even as the Blitz and Jozi Stars have already paved their way for the upcoming stages, Nelson Mandela Bay Giants and Paarl Rocks’ fates are hanging in the balance.



The pitch has played indifferently at times. While teams have racked up significant scores at the venue, a couple of low-scoring affairs have also been played here. However, bearing in mind the fact that it’s the last match at the ground, a decent batting wicket is expected to be dished out. Both the teams may also want to bat second after winning the toss.

Team Combination

Tshwane Spartans

Andrea Agathangelou and wicketkeeper Gihahn Cloete are the opening batsman with the experienced Dean Elgar to come at number three. Skipper AB de Villiers would want to end on a high. Eoin Morgan will bat after the Proteas legend. A lot would depend on how the leg-spinners- Jeevan Mendis and Shaun von Berg wield their magic. Robbie Frylinck and Lutho Sipamla are the other bowling options.

Predicted XI

Andrea Agathangelou, Gihahn Cloete (wk), Dean Elgar, AB de Villiers (C), Eoin Morgan, Corbin Bosch, Tony de Zorzi, Robbie Frylinck, Shaun von Berg, Jeevan Mendis, Lutho Sipamla

Durban Heat

Sarel Erwee and wicketkeeper Morne van Wyk are the probable opening batsmen. Hashim Amla and Khaya Zondo are slotted to bat at number three and four respectively. David Miller and Heinrich Klaasen are the power-hitters. The batting has depth with Rashid Khan coming at eight. Kyle Abbott, Marchant de Lange, Keshav Maharaj, and Tladi Bokako are the other bowlers in the lineup.

Predicted XI

Sarel Erwee, Morne van Wyk (wk), Hashim Amla, Khaya Zondo, David Miller, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj (C), Rashid Khan, Kyle Abbott, Marchant de Lange, Tladi Bokako

Probable Top Performers

Dean Elgar- Tshwane Spartans, Hashim Amla- Durban Heat

Broadcast Details

Live Streaming – Sony LIV

Match Timings – 22:30 IST; 17:00 local

The prediction is for Durban Heat to win the match.