Mumbai Announce 16-man Squad for the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy 2018 |

Mumbai announce 16-man squad for the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 trophy

Mumbai have never won the Syed Mushtaq Ali trophy and will want to change it this time round with a star-studded team.

Shreyas Iyer |
Shreyas Iyer. (Photo Source: Twitter)

There has been a lot of buzz surrounding the ongoing Syed Mushtaq Ali Twenty20 Trophy. Ahead of the Super League phase, the Mumbai Cricket Association declared the squad for the same. The business end of the tournament is set to commence from the 21st of January in Kolkata.

Earlier, Mumbai alongside Baroda were the top teams from West Zone and thus, they qualified for the Super League. The primary stage saw both teams playing four games each. While Mumbai won two games, Baroda went on to win all their games and even topped the table.

Shreyas Iyer recovers, Aditya Tare to lead the team

Aditya Tare who has been struggling with his own form continues to lead the team. The wicket-keeper batsman will want to get things back on track and lead his lads from the front.

Shreyas Iyer who picked up a hamstring injury during the league stages of the tournament has recovered. The batsman was named once again in the 16-member squad. Following the Super League, he will leave for South Africa soon to play the limited-overs series starting from February 1st. The right-handed batsman was retained by his franchise Delhi Daredevils.

The other important members of the squad include Dhawal Kulkarni, Surya Kumar Yadav, Siddhesh Lad and Shardul Thakur. With a blend of young talent in the squad alongside some with IPL experience, Mumbai would be looking to make it count in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. They have never won the tournament and after a disappointing Ranji season would want to make amends in the shorter format of the game.

Here’s the 16 member squad announced:-

Aditya Tare (Captain), Dhawal Kulkarni (Vice Captain), Akhil Herwadkar, Jay Bista, Suryakumar Yadav, Siddhesh Lad Shivam Dube, Shashank Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Aakash Parkar, Dhrumil Matkar, Shardul Thakur, Eknath Kerkar Parikshit Valsangkar, Shams Mulani, Tushar Deshpande.

For more domestic and international cricket news, keep following