Mushfiqur Rahim opts out of the Pakistan tour

Mushfiqur Rahim opts out of the Pakistan tour

Bangladesh are set to play three T20Is in Pakistan with the tour set to begin on January 24.

Mushfiqur Rahim
Mushfiqur Rahim. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The Bangladesh Cricket team are yet to announce their squad for the three-match Twenty20 International series on the upcoming tour of Pakistan. But before they could announce their set-up, they have been jolted by the declaration of one of their senior players, of not going on the tour of Pakistan.

That senior player is none other than wicketkeeper-batsman Mushfiqur Rahim. When the talks around the possibility of touring Pakistan were being held, the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) was wary that even if the tour went ahead, most of its senior players would not travel as they were apprehensive about the same.

Mushfiqur Rahim has now become the first senior player to opt out of the series. Chief selector Minhajul Abedin told the media on Thursday that Rahim had rung him to inform the board of his decision to not tour Pakistan and the BCB is now awaiting a formal letter from the former captain so that they can leave him out of the squad.

“Mushfiq(ur) rang me today to inform that he will not go to Pakistan. We are now waiting for his formal letter. Once he does that, we will leave him out of the series,” Minhajul Abedin, Bangladesh chief selector said as quoted by NDTV.

Bangladesh is yet to announce their squad for the three-match Twenty20 International series which kickstarts from January 24 at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore. And, after having already lost ace all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan, who is currently serving a backdated 12-month suspension by the ICC for not reporting the corrupt approached made by the bookies on three different occasions, Bangladesh will be jolted and severely hampered by the absence of another veteran in the form of Mushfiqur Rahim.

Bangladesh will tour Pakistan in three different instalments

The first instalment will see them tour Pakistan for a three-match T20I series between January 24-27. They will then return in February to play the first Test of the 2-match series in Rawalpindi. The third and final instalment of the tour of Pakistan will commence after the completion of the Pakistan Super League (PSL), post which the Tigers will once again return to play one-off ODI and the second Test in Karachi.

Freehit: 17 Questions with Jalaj Saxena