Mzansi Super League 2018: All you need to know about the franchises, player drafts and marquee players

Mzansi Super League 2018: All you need to know about the franchises, player drafts and marquee players

The Player Draft process will take place on October 17.

Mzansi Super League
Mzansi Super League. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Cricket South Africa (CSA), fighting with all the obstacles, has finally managed to launch a T20 league of their own. Mzansi Super League T20 (MSL T20) is their official domestic T20 league now in place of a formerly Ram Slam T20. They were in dire straits after the Global T20 League was postponed last year and since then the officials were trying to recuperate.

A total of six teams will compete for the glory across 32 matches from November 16 to December 16 in the inaugural edition of the T20 league. The American sports-styled player draft is all set to take place on October 17 where the franchises will have to pick one from the six South African and six overseas marquee players.

Also, a lot more top international players have applied to feature in the T20 league which has delighted the CSA CEO Thabang Moroe. “We have received applications from over 200 top international players who expressed interest in playing in this inaugural tournament and will have their names in the hat ahead of the player draft process on Wednesday,” he was quoted as saying by Cricbuzz.

Moreover, he also admitted that there are a few challenges which they will have to deal with as the tournament will clash with some of the international tours and the availability of the players will be a question. “here were expected challenges in the process, of course, with some players available for a particular period because of other cricket commitment clashes elsewhere, including our Proteas, who also have to fulfill our tour to Australia for a one-day series,” Moroe added.

Here are all the details about the MSL T20:

Franchises: Cape Town Blitz (PPC Newlands), Durban Heat (Kingsmead), Jozi Stars (Bidvest Wanderers), Nelson Mandela Bay Giants (St George’s Park), Paarl Rocks (Eurolux Boland Park) and Tshwane Spartans (Supersport Park Centurion).

South Africa Marquee players: AB de Villiers, Faf du Plessis, Hashim Amla, JP Duminy, Kagiso Rabada and Imran Tahir

Overseas Marquee Players: Chris Gayle and Dwayne Bravo (Windies), Rashid Khan (Afghanistan), Eoin Morgan, David Malan and Jason Roy (England).

Duration of the tournament: November 16-December 16

[interaction id=”5bc07d610c8b96eb7fed235c”]

Get the latest News and updates from all the cricketing action, Match Predictions, Fantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on