Nathan Lyon reveals the reason behind Aaron Finch’s decision to not review his dismissal
Finch was given out on duck survived since it was a no ball but fell again on 11.
Updated - Dec 10, 2018 3:02 pm
Australia opener Aaron Finch is having a tough time adjusting to Test cricket. One of the finest batsmen in the world in limited-overs cricket, Finch made his debut during the series against Pakistan a couple of months ago but is yet to justify his selection. Even in the first Test against India, he failed to get going. The right-handed batsman failed to open his account as he was castled for a duck by Indian pace spearhead Ishant Sharma in the very first over of the match.
In the second innings, he could have suffered the same fate after being given lbw in the very first over once again off the bowling of Ishant when he was yet to open his account. But fortunately, he reviewed the decision and replays showed Ishant had overstepped. However, he could not make full use of the big reprieve, departing after scoring just 11. Things, however, could have been different had he decided to go upstairs once again.
When he was given out caught off bat and glove off Ravichandran Ashwin, it looked like he would refer the decision. Finch had walked up to his partner, consulted with him but then walked off. Replays later showed that he could have got the benefit of the doubt. However, he decided otherwise and cost Australia a wicket.
Well, his teammate Nathan Lyon explained the reason behind it, revealing that he had checked on the matter with the third umpire.
“I don’t think he was going to get away with it,” he said. “I’ve spoken to the third umpire (Chris Gaffaney) who said it was out or there was inconclusive evidence to overturn the decision. Finchy’s fine, and it’s been a great learning curve for Aaron. He’ll take a lot out of this first Test match at home and he’ll be better for the run.”
Here is the video of the dismissal:
— cricket.com.au (@cricketcomau) December 9, 2018
~ Written by Bijoy