New Zealand vs Sri Lanka, 2019: Only T20I – Statistical Highlights

New Zealand vs Sri Lanka, 2019: Only T20I – Statistical Highlights

All the major stats and numbers recorded during New Zealand’s win in the one-off T20I game.

New Zealand team
New Zealand team. (Photo by Phil Walter/Getty Images)

Sri Lanka failed to register a win on their tour of New Zealand as they lost the one-off T20I by 35 runs after losing the Test series by 1-0 margin and being whitewashed in the 3-match ODI series. The Lankans had the hosts 4/27 by 4th over and 5/55 at end of 10th over. However, Doug Bracewell’s 26-ball 44 and Scott Kuggeleijn’s 15-ball 35* powered the Kiwis to finish on 179/7. Sri Lanka were going well in the chase at 118/4 in 13th over before Thisara Perera’s wicket triggered a collapse.

All the major stats and numbers recorded during New Zealand’s win in the one-off T20I game:

End of a streak for New Zealand:

7 – This win is New Zealand’s first in seven T20I matches bringing an end to their 6-match losing streak in this format. New Zealand’s longest losing T20I streak is of seven matches during 2007 and 2008.

Lower order captains:

4 – This T20I is only the 4th where captains of both the teams did not bat in top eight batting positions. Tim Southee for New Zealand and Lasith Malinga of Sri Lanka batted at No.9 in this game. The 2008 King City Pakistan-Zimbabwe T20I, 2011 The Oval England-Windies T20I and the 2013 Sharjah Afghanistan-Scotland T20I are the other three instances.

5 – This is overall the 5th match in the T20I history where both the team’s captain opened the bowling. Lasith Malinga bowled the first over of the match while Tim Southee bowled the second over of Sri Lanka’s innings.

A brilliant comeback from the Kiwis:

27 – New Zealand lost their 4th wicket at the score of 27; the 4th lowest first innings score at the fall of the 4th wicket in a T20I to win. Zimbabwe were 11/4 batting first against Windies in the 2010 Port of Spain which they won.

New Zealand’s 55/5 is also the 4th lowest score at the fall of 5th wicket while batting first to end up on the winning side. Ireland defeated Bermuda in the 2008 Belfast T20I after being 41/5.

124 – Runs New Zealand added after losing their 5th wicket; the 3rd most by any team in a T20I. Sri Lanka scored 136 runs after being 40/5 in the 2017 Geelong T20I against Australia while Pakistan finished on 174/9 from 40/5 against Sri Lanka in the 2015 Colombo T20I.

138 – Runs aggregated by New Zealand’s players batting at No.5 and a lower position; the joint 3rd most in a T20I inning. England’s No.5, 6, 7, 8 collectively aggregated 166 in the 2013 Southampton T20I against Australia; the only team’s players scoring over 140 runs in a T20I batting at No.5 and a lower position.

The venue for sixes:

7 – Number of times 10+ sixes have been hit in a team inning in T20Is at the Eden Park in Auckland; the joint most at a venue. The Seddon Park also has recorded seven such instances.

The Eden Park has witnessed 249 sixes in only 17 T20I matches which are the 4th most at any venue in this format. A six has been hit at an average of 15.57 balls at this venue in T20Is.