Nidahas Trophy 2018, Sri Lanka vs India, 1st T20I – Statistical Highlights

All the stats and numbers that were recorded during the Nidahas Trophy opener.

Sri Lanka vs India
Sri Lanka vs India. (Photo Source: Papare/Twitter)

Sri Lanka thumped down India in the first match of the Nidahas Trophy with some aggressive batting display after restricting the visitors to a below-par total on a flat track. Shikhar Dhawan struck a brilliant 90-run knock in 49 balls with six fours and six sixes but the runs coming became tough at the other end as India ended up with only 174/5 in their 20 overs. Kusal Perera’s 37-ball 66 kept the Sri Lankan run rate over ten during his stay to make the chase easier.

All the stats and numbers that were recorded during the Nidahas Trophy opener:

1 – This was Sri Lanka’s maiden win at home against India in the T20I format. They lost each of the three T20Is they played at home against the Indian team. This was also the first win in eight T20Is for Sri Lanka against India after losing seven consecutive games.


2 – Rohit Sharma bagging a duck is only the 2nd instance of an Indian captain scoring a duck in a T20I. Virat Kohli bagged a duck in the 2017 Guwahati T20I against Australia. Rohit is also the 2nd player after Tillakaratne Dilshan to score a century and bag a duck as captain in this format.

5 – This was Rohit’s first defeat as captain in the T20I format after winning in each of his first four matches. Only Kumar Sangakkara, Misbah-ul-Haq and Sarfraz Ahmed won each of their first five T20Is as captain.

5 – Number of ducks for Rohit Sharma in the T20I format. These are the most number of ducks for an Indian player in this format with no other player bagging more than three ducks.

27 – Runs conceded by Shardul Thakur in his first over (Sri Lanka’s 3rd over). These are the 2nd most runs conceded by an Indian player in an over in T20Is. Stuart Binny conceded 32 runs in an over against West Indies’ Evin Lewis in the 2016 Lauderhill T20I.

75 – The 75 runs by Sri Lanka in the powerplay are the most by them in a T20I. Their previous highest powerplay score in this format was 73 also against India in 2009 Mohali T20I. This is also the 2nd highest India conceded in the powerplay behind the 78 runs in the 2016 Lauderhill T20I against West Indies.

90 – Shikhar Dhawan became the first Indian to be dismissed in the 90s in the T20I format. Virat Kohli is the only other Indian to score the nineties in a T20I. He scored an unbeaten 90 against Australia in the 201 Adelaide T20I.

Dhawan also became the first Indian and only the 5th player to be dismissed in the 90s in all the three formats in International cricket. Chris Gayle, Brendon McCullum, Steven Smith and Alex Hales are the others to be dismissed in the 90s in all three formats.

175 – Sri Lanka’s 175-run chase is their 2nd highest successful chase. They chased down 194 against Bangladesh in the previous series last month. This is also the 2nd highest successful chase in a T20I hosted by Sri Lanka. Pakistan chased down 176 against Bangladesh in the 2012 WT20 in Pallekele.