Nidahas Trophy 2018, Sri Lanka vs India, 4th T20I – Statistical Highlights

All the stats and numbers that were recorded during India’s 2nd consecutive win in the tournament.

Shardul Thakur
Shardul Thakur. (Photo Source: Getty Images)

India registered their 2nd consecutive victory in the Nidahas Trophy after a comfortable 6-wicket win against the home side Sri Lanka. Rain reduced the game to 19 overs-a-side but the Lankans’ batting strategy didn’t change. Kusal Mendis scored his 4th T20I fifty in five matches as Sri Lanka were racing at 108/3 after 11 overs. Indian bowlers came back strong to contain the hosts to 152/9 in the restricted 19 overs. India lost their top four in the chase before Manish Pandey and Dinesh Karthik completed the chase with an unbeaten partnership.

All the stats and numbers that were recorded during India’s 2nd consecutive win in the tournament:

1 – KL Rahul became the first Indian batsman to be dismissed hit-wicket in T20I format. He is the 10th player overall to be dismissed via hit-wicket in this format. Mark Chapman was last of the previous nine as he got out via hit-wicket in the recent Tri-Series final against Australia.


2 – Only the 2nd time none of India’s top three batsmen got into the 20s while chasing in a T20I game. The other such instance was against Australia in the 2010 WT20 game. Overall, this was the 10th time none of India’s top three got past 20 in a T20I inning.

4/27 – Shardul Thakur became the 5th player and 2nd Indian to take 4-wicket haul in the T20I format at the R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo. Harbhajan Singh took 4/12 in the WT20 2012 match against England. Ajantha Mendis (4/12), Mustafizur Rahman (4/21) and Dwayne Bravo (4/28) are the other three players with a 4-wicket haul at this venue.

4/27 – Shardul Thakur’s 4-wicket haul is the 2nd most expensive 4-fer by an Indian in the T20I cricket. Yuzvendra Chahal conceded 52 runs in four overs for his 4-wicket haul against Sri Lanka in the last year’s Indore T20I.

11 – India now defeated Sri Lanka in the 11 T20I matches which are the most for them against any team. These are also the joint 2nd most number of wins for any team against an opponent in this format. Pakistan defeated Sri Lanka in 13 out of 18 T20Is they played.

39 – Runs aggregated by Rohit Sharma in his previous five T20I innings. He averages 7.8 in these five innings in which he bagged two ducks with a best score of 17.

68* – The unbeaten 68-run stand between Manish Pandey and Dinesh Karthik is India’s 2nd highest partnership for 5th and lower wicket in a T20I chase. Yuvraj Singh and MS Dhoni shared unbeaten 102-run stand in the 2013 Rajkot T20I.