Nidahas Trophy 2018 – Statistical Highlights

All the major stats and numbers that were recorded during the Nidahas Trophy 2018.

Dinesh Karthik
Dinesh Karthik celebrates after hitting the winning shot. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The Nidahas Trophy was arranged to celebrate the 70th year of Sri Lanka’s Independence but the home team crashed out in the league stage itself. Despite the absence of Sri Lanka in the final, the tournament came ended in a dramatic way as Dinesh Karthik cleared the fence on the final ball when India needed five runs. The tournament witnessed Bangladesh clinching thrillers against Sri Lanka that were followed by some crazy celebrations.

All the major stats and numbers that were recorded during the Nidahas Trophy 2018:

0 – Number of times a team got bowled out in the seven games of this tournament. This is only the 2nd T20I series/tournament (5+ games) in which no team got bowled out. The recently concluded Trans-Tasman Triangular series was the other such instance.


2 – Number of maiden overs that were bowled in this tournament; both by Mustafizur Rahman. His first over in the final league match against Sri Lanka and his last over of the final against India were maidens.

4/27 – Shardul Thakur’s bowling figures of 4/27 against Sri Lanka in the 4th game are the best bowling figures of the tournament. These are also the worst “best bowling figures” in a T20I series/tournament with five and more matches.

5 – Rohit Sharma won his 5th twenty20 final as a captain. MS Dhoni (6) and Shoaib Malik (5) are the other players to win five and more T20 finals as skippers.

Rohit’s 100% win record in the T20 finals is the highest for any player who led in five finals. The next best is Imran Nazir who won four out of four T20 finals as a captain.

8 – Number of wickets for Yuzvendra Chahal and Washington Sundar in this tournament. The Indian spinners are the leading wicket-takers of this Nidahas Trophy.

18y 164d – At the age of 18 years and 166 days, Washington Sundar became the youngest player to receive a man of the tournament award in International cricket. Waqar Younis was the previous youngest to win a man of the tournament award. The Pakistan bowler received the man of the tournament award of the 1990 Austral-Asia Cup at the age of 18 years and 169 days.

Sundar is also the youngest Indian to win a man of the series award as the previous youngest was Narendra Hirwani in the 1988 Sharjah Cup at the age of 19 years and 166 days.

89 – A total of 89 sixes were hit in this tournament – 31 by India, 30 by Sri Lanka and 28 by Bangladesh. Shikhar Dhawan (10) is the only player to hit ten and more sixes in this tournament.

204 – Kushal Perera ended as the leading run-scorer of the tournament with 204 runs in four innings. Mushfiqur Rahim and Shikhar Dhawan grab the next two spots with 199 and 198 runs respectively in five innings they batted. Perera is also the only player to hit three fifties in the tournament.