Pakistan announce T20I squad for the series against Scotland

Babar Azam has been replaced by Haris Sohail in the squad.

Pakistan. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced the 15-man squad for the two-match T20 International series against Scotland. The selectors have made only one change to the team which had won the series against Windies in April. Only the injured Babar Azam will miss the series and he has been replaced by Haris Sohail who gave a good account of himself in the recently concluded Test series against England. However, the focus will be on the youngsters who came into the side on the back of some decent performances in the Pakistan Super League (PSL).

Sarfraz Ahmed will continue to lead the young side which has done well so far in their ongoing UK tour. Ahmed Shehzad has got yet another opportunity to prove himself at the top of the order as he was not included in any of the matches against Windies. Faheem Ashraf and Shadab Khan are the shining lights so far on this tour and are expected to continue in the same vein in these two T20Is as well.


PSL stars in focus

As per reports in Cricbuzz, this will be a great exposure for the youngster like Asif Ali and Hussain Talat who have impressed a lot in the PSL. Even the 18-year-old Shaheen Afridi will learn a lot from this tour as the conditions in Scotland will favour seam bowling and the left-arm pacer is known to move the new cherry a fair way. Interestingly, Mohammad Amir has not been rested for this trip after he struggled while bowling on the third day of the second Test match in Leeds.

The selectors will have to manage his workload going forward as he has been playing continuously ever since coming back to the international cricket. The two matches will be played at Edinburgh on June 12 and 13 and it goes without saying that the visitors are the favourites to clinch the series.

Pakistan T20I squad: Fakhar Zaman, Ahmed Shehzad, Haris Sohail, Shoaib Malik, Asif Ali, Hussain Talat, Sarfraz Ahmed (c & wk), Faheem Ashraf, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Amir, Hasan Ali, Rahat Ali, Usman Khan, Shaheen Afridi

Keep following CricTracker for more news and updates