Pakistan vs Australia: PCB announces the 17-man squad for the Test series

Pakistan vs Australia: PCB announces the 17-man squad for the Test series

The Test series will commence on October 7 in Dubai.

Mohammad Amir
Mohammad Amir of Pakistan. (Photo by Tom Dulat/Getty Images)

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced the Test squad for the upcoming two-match series against Australia in the United Arab Emirates (UAE). The repercussions of a poor Asia Cup are already being felt as Mohammad Amir has been dropped from the team. Almost all of the Test specialists have retained their place in the side while Fakhar Zaman has also been included despite his recent failures albeit in the ODIs.

According to Cricbuzz, Amir was axed and not rested from the 17-man squad which will be led by Sarfraz Ahmed. With an aim to manage the workload of the skipper, the backup wicketkeeper in Mohammad Rizwan has also made it to the side. This is Pakistan‘s first assignment in the longest format after the hard-fought Test series in England a few months which they managed to draw.

Two leg-spinners in the squad

The selection committee led by Inzamam-ul-Haq has included only a couple of specialist spinners in the squad. Shadab Khan and Yasir Shah are the two leggies picked. The latter has recovered from his injury after missing England tour earlier this year and was the tormentor of the Aussies last time around. Haris Sohail and Bilal Asif are the other spinners in the squad who are also better batsmen.

The batting order looks formidable with the presence of the likes of Azhar Ali, Babar Azam, Asad Shafiq who are touted to be a few of the best Pakistani batsmen in the whites. Wahab Riaz has made it to the Test set up as well and will be teaming up with Muhammad Abbas, Hassan Ali and the new left-arm prospect in Mir Hamza.

The Test series between Pakistan and Australia will begin on October 7 in Dubai before which the tourists will play a four-day warm-up game against Pakistan A side starting from September 29.

Pakistan squad: Azhar Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Imam Ul Haq, Babar Azam, Asad Shafiq, Haris Sohail, Usman Salahuddin, Sarfraz Ahmed (c & wk), Yasir Shah, Shadab Khan, Bilal Asif, Muhammad Abbas, Hassan Ali, Wahab Riaz, Faheem Ashraf, Mir Hamza, Muhammad Rizwan (wk)

[interaction id=”5bacb51d9426af6c3a217efe”]

Keep following CricTracker for more news and updates.