Advertisement

Parthiv Patel might be in trouble for comments caught in stump mic

Parthiv Patel
Parthiv Patel. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The Rest of India vs Gujarat Irani Cup match didn’t end well for the Ranji Trophy champs as they couldn’t double up their win in the premier Indian first-class tournament. Their first win in Ranji Trophy was special as they beat mighty Mumbai in the final exceptionally led by skipper Parthiv Patel. After their show in the Ranji Trophy, a lot was expected from the team in the Irani Cup as well.

Like he had done in the previous tournament Parthiv wanted to lead the team from the front in the Irani Cup as well but he was dismissed for 11 in the first innings and when he walked out to bat in the decisive second knock he got off to a start scoring 32 runs and was just starting to build a partnership with Manpreet Juneja. But before he could substantialize his knock he was given out in the 48th over on the 4th day.

Advertisement

On the second ball of the over from Jharkhand left-arm spinner Shahbaz Nadeem representing the Rest of India Patel missed the ball and it hit his pads to lob in the air and Mumbai opener Akhil Herwadkar took a brilliant catch fielding close to the bat. There was no contact between the bat and ball and on being given out the Gujarat skipper was quite annoyed.

Television replays suggested Parthiv’s rage was fair as it was not out and the umpire had erred while making the decision. But he was given out and had to walk off. While passing by the umpire Virender Sharma he was recorded on the stump microphone saying, “Umpiring kyun karte ho?” With which he meant to say- If you cannot make the right decision why do you umpire? After changing over in the dressing room he also had a brief discussion with the match referee Chinmaya Sharma.

Also read- Had a reality check after the World T20: Hardik Pandya

Having realized his mistake Parthiv denied any comments on it after the conclusion of the match. When he was asked about his reaction, the 31-year-old said, “I can’t do anything about it. I cannot make any comment on it because I will obviously get charged for what I have done. Everyone has seen it. I don’t think I can make any comment on the decision; it’s under the rule.”

The match referee and the BCCI is yet to release a statement on the matter.

Advertisement