PCB selects 18 players for the training camp ahead of the Asia Cup

All of them will undergo a fitness test on the first day of the camp.

Pakistan Team
Pakistan Team. (Photo Source: Twitter)

View : 2K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on :

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has chosen a group of 18 players for a training camp in Lahore ahead of the Asia Cup. The tournament is all set to commence on September 15 and it seems that the selectors will trim the squad to 15 members at the end of the camp which will go on from September 3 to 10 in Lahore at the Gaddafi Stadium. The cricketers will also undergo a fitness test on the first day of the camp. There are no notable additions or omissions from the group with Shan Masood coming back in the thick of the plans.

Interestingly, Hussain Talat has not been named in the squad despite performing to the potential more often than not ever since he has made it to the team. The rest of the side looks similar which toured Zimbabwe last month. The Men in Green played beautifully against the depleted the hosts and whitewashed them as their opener Fakhar Zaman registered first double-hundred for Pakistan.

Imad Wasim also recalled

The left-arm spinner Imad Wasim is back in the side after a long time according to the Express Tribune. He was injured while playing in the Pakistan Super League (PSL) and he has straight away come back into the reckoning. Pakistan will play their first game on September 16 against the qualifying side with the arch-rivals India also in the same group. They will face the Men in Blue after a two-day break in Dubai.

With the spin likely to play a crucial part in the tournament, the selection committee led by Inzamam Ul Haq has stacked the squad with four spinners. Apart from Wasim, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz and Shoaib Malik are also included and the players participating in the ongoing Caribbean Premier League (CPL) have been called back.

The cricketers are currently taking part in a retreat camp activity at Army School of Physical Training (ASPT), Abbottabad which is set to conclude on Friday.

Here’s the 18-man squad: Fakhar Zaman, Imamul Haq, Shan Masood, Mohammad Hafeez, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Asif Ali, Haris Sohail, Sarfraz Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Imad Wasim, Hassan Ali, Usman Khan Shinwari, Mohammed Amir, Junaid Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi and Faheem Ashraf.

[interaction id=”5b87a35ecd0ad72a0c2737ec”]

Keep following CricTracker for more news and updates.