Poll: Who will win the Orange Cap in this year’s IPL?

The 2016 edition of the Indian Premier League is underway and the tournament once again promises to live up to its expectations and deliver quality cricket along with entertainment. Eight teams are fighting it out for top honours with several Indian and overseas stars showcasing their talents. The Orange Cap is the award presented to the leading run scorer in the IPL and five batsmen look top contenders considering pedigree, form, and past records.

Aussie David Warner is leading the Sunrisers Hyderabad and has stamped his class and authority on opposition bowlers thus far. He hammered 562 runs in the 2015 edition of the IPL thereby taking the Orange Cap home. Warner is second in the list of leading run-scorers at the moment with 294 runs from 6 matches and one big knock in the coming games can take him to the top.


Rohit Sharma had a forgettable World T20 and failed to get going. The skipper of the Mumbai Indians has had a mixed IPL thus far. He has been brilliant in a couple of games while has also got out cheap on other occasions. Rohit has scored 230 runs in 7 matches with the best of 84*. He is opening the innings for MI and has the ability to run away with the game, this season he has been at his best while chasing and would want to give his team good starts in the games they bat first.

Virat Kohli has been a run-machine in recent times for India and had a terrific World T20. Prior to the global event, he stamped his class in Australia followed by another stellar show in the Asia Cup T20 in Bangladesh. The skipper of Royal Challengers Bangalore is wearing the Orange Cap at the moment with 367 runs from 5 matches, at an average of 91.75 and has the best score of 100* that he scored against Gujarat Lions. It was his first century in T20 cricket and IPL.

Ajinkya Rahane has emerged as the mainstay of Rising Pune Supergiants. His methodical approach to batting was a huge hit for the Rajasthan Royals. Rahane’s ability to find gaps is secondary to none and he oozes elegance in doing so. He started the season well for RPS scoring an unbeaten 66 off 42 balls that gave his team a winning start against the defending champions. Rahane has scored 223 runs with the best of 67. Though Pune have had just one success by far he has done his part with the bat. Having made his intentions clear Ajinkya Rahane will now want to continue scoring heavily for the remainder of the season.

Others who have the potential to top the batting charts include the likes of Gautam Gambhir, AB de Villiers, Quinton de Kock, Brendon McCullum, Suresh Raina, Robin Uthappa and Aaron Finch. We let the fans cast their vote for the potential Orange Cap winner this year.