PSL 2018, Match 12 Review: Islamabad United clinch an absolute thriller in the super over

PSL 2018, Match 12 Review: Islamabad United clinch an absolute thriller in the super over

Unfortunately for the Qalandars, they just cannot find a way to win a match in this tournament. 

Mohammad Sami of the Islamabad United
Mohammad Sami received the player of the match award. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Just when people thought Darren Sammy’s exploits provided the game of the season yesterday, Islamabad United pulled off a humdinger. It was a low-scoring thriller at Sharjah, the ones everyone loves to watch and United managed to win it off the final ball of the Super over thanks to a certain Andre Russell, who walloped the Qalandars.

Batting first, Islamabad lost a wicket off the second ball and in the fourth over, they lost another wicket. Their scoring rate was catastrophically low and they found themselves in deep trouble with wickets tumbling at one end and no runs coming from the other. Skipper Misbah-ul-Haq was dismissed in the 9th over and the score was just 29 by then.

The bowlers were doing a phenomenal job and Sunil Narine was the unlucky guy to have not picked up a wicket. He gave away just 10 runs in 4 overs and was the main reason behind their scoring rate being less than 4 till the 12th over. After Samit Patel’s dismissal, Asif Ali and Hussain Talat returned with crucial contributions, which helped them notch 121 runs in their 20 overs.

Yasir Shah was the pick of the bowlers with figures of 3/20 in 4 overs. Sohail Khan returned with a brace and bowled very economically. Mustafizur Rahman, Fakhar Zaman, and Salman Irshad returned with one wicket each.

Lahore squander a golden chance

If ever Lahore were going to get a golden chance to win a game this season, this was it. Despite losing Umar Akmal and Fakhar Zaman in the very first over of the game, Brendon McCullum and Agha Salman added a decent partnership for the 3rd wicket to keep them in the hunt. Quite uncharacteristically, McCullum scored 34 runs in 49 balls, probably the slowest innings in his entire T20 career.

Agha Salman came out and played some fearless shots and kept the scoreboard ticking. Whilst he was there, the scoring rate was touching the 7 mark, which was more than enough at that point. But as it turned out, his wicket changed the game on its head and the momentum started to shift to the other side.

Wickets began to tumble, just the way it happened in the first innings. McCullum was stuck at the other end, who was neither getting dismissed not doing anything significant. Samit Patel, Mohammad Sami, and Andre Russell bowled very economically and pulled them into the game out of the blue.

There was a lot of drama in the last over, but as it turned out, McCullum falling with 4 balls remaining was a killer blow. They lost their final wicket with one run still to get and the game headed to a super-over.

Andre Russell – You Absolute Beauty!

Since they batted second in the main game, Lahore batted first in the Super Over. McCullum smashed a six off Mohammad Sami off the first ball and fell the very next ball. Umar Akmal’s six off the fourth ball and a brace off the final ball got them to 15 runs.

With 16 runs needed, Mustafizur had the ball in hand. He conceded a six off the second ball and after controlling things in the next two balls, he bowled a wide. They needed 7 runs in two balls when Andre Russell hit a four and a six respectively to win it for the United. Unfortunately for the Qalandars, they just cannot find a way to win a match in this tournament.

Brief Scores

Islamabad United: 121/9 in 20 overs (Hussain Talat 34; Yasir Shah 3/20)

Lahore Qalanadars: 121 all out in 19.4 overs (Agha Salman 48; Mohammad Sami 3/21, Samit Patel 3/17)

SUPER OVER: Lahore – 15/1 in one over, Islamabad – 19/0 in one over

Player of the match: Mohammad Sami

Watch the super over here:

First ball:

second ball:

Third ball: DOT

Fourth ball:

Fifth ball: 1 run

Sixth ball: 2 runs

Baz gave the ball to ‘The Fizz’ to defend 16 runs in the super over.

First ball: 1 run

Second ball:

Third ball: Dot

Fourth ball: 1 run

Fifth ball: wide

Fifth ball: Four

Sixth ball:

Russell wins it for Islamabad!