PSL 2018: Quetta Gladiators name replacement for Carlos Brathwaite

PSL 2018: Quetta Gladiators name replacement for Carlos Brathwaite

Islamabad United have named some interesting replacements.

Jofra Archer
Jofra Archer of the Hurricanes bowls. (Photo by Brett Hemmings/Getty Images)

The last couple of days has seen the media flooding with the news about the IPL 2018 auctions. At the very same time, another popular T20 league was also seen tweaking with the team combinations. The Pakistan Super League (PSL) drafts for the upcoming edition saw quite a few changes. Among the lot, the biggest headline was about Carlos Brathwaite not being available for the Quetta Gladiators this season.

Brathwaite has been named in the West Indies side for the World Cup qualifiers which will be played at around the same time as that of the PSL 2018. Hence, he pulled out of the tournament. The Quetta Gladiators have made a very smart move by replacing him with the rising T20 sensation Jofra Archer. The Sussex cricketer recently made the headlines after he was picked up by the Rajasthan Royals in the IPL 2018 auctions.

In other news, he is facing the heat of Indian fans for his anti-Indian tweets. Coming back to the PSL drafts, the other teams also named replacements for the players who would be unavailable due to various reasons this season. Tymal Mills, who is Archer’s Sussex teammate, is set to join Karachi Kings as the replacement of Mitchell Johnson. Johnson pulled out of the PSL 2018 citing personal reasons.

Other major replacements

Apart from Brathwaite and Johnson, the other players who will miss the tournament are Luke Wright, Angelo Mathews, and Colin Munro. There are other players who will be partially available for the tournament. Luke Wright, who played for Quetta Gladiators, was set to play for Karachi Kings. But he pulled out at the last moment citing fitness issues.

On the other hand, Angelo Mathews will not be participating since he has failed to get an NOC from Sri Lanka Cricket. Lahore Qalandars named Anton Devcich as the replacment for Mathews. Bangaldesh’s Mustafizur Rahman will be available for a few matches only. Hence, Lahore have added Denesh Ramdin in their squad to compensate for the same. Meanwhile, Islamabad United have named Asela Gunaratne, Steven Finn, and Chadwick Walton to replace JP Duminy, David Willey, and Alex Hales.

CricTracker is the home to all cricketing news, trends and developments.