PSL 2019: Franchise owners reject PCB’s proposal of female cheerleaders in T20 tournament

In the first three editions of the PSL, PCB resorted to having male dancers.

Fawad Rana
Fawad Rana. (Photo Source: Twitter)

View : 1K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

The fourth edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) is set to get underway in a couple of weeks time. Defending champions Islamabad United and last year’s cellar dwellers Lahore Qalandars is scheduled to play the first match of the next season’s PSL. This time around as many as eight matches will be played in Pakistan, the most combining all the seasons of the prestigious T20 tournament.

In the meantime, it has been learned that the franchise owners have rejected Pakistan Cricket Board’s (PCB) proposal of having female cheerleaders in the upcoming edition. Previously, the PSL secretariat suggested to the franchise owners that if they were willing to shell out USD 14,000 dollars bearing in mind the popularity and viewership of the mega event.

The words from franchise owners

“The franchise owners rejected the proposal firstly objecting to them having to shell out USD 14,000 dollars and secondly because they felt the presence of cheerleaders would not be helpful in enhancing the popularity and following of the league,” a source was quoted as saying in Outlook.

In the first three editions of the PSL, PCB resorted to having male dancers to keep the audience entertained throughout in between overs. The source also mentioned what the franchise owners thought about the outfits of the cheerleaders in the T20 extravaganza.

“The franchise owners were assured the female cheerleaders would be wearing proper eastern dresses and would not wear anything objectionable and they would perform in one corner of the ground where the matches are to be held,” the source added.

The United are the most successful team in the PSL, having got their hands on the silverware as many as twice. Last year, they beat Quetta Gladiators by three wickets in the final. Peshawar Zalmi won the second edition of the tournament. A total of 34 matches will be played in the next PSL.

Get the latest Cricket News and updates, Match Predictions, Fantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on