PSL 2022 Stats Review: Fakhar Zaman’s run-scoring spree, Shadab Khan’s all-round blitzes and other records

Multan Sultans made it to the final for second straight year but Lahore Qalandars finally end their drought to lift the maiden title.

Shadab Khan
Shadab Khan. (Photo Source: Twitter)
Pawan Ashok Sharma

Jr. Statistician

View : 2.1K

4 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

The seventh season of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) is finally concluded and there is a new Champion. Lahore Qalandars won their maiden title as young Shaheen Afridi led the team brilliantly both as a leader and as a bowler. At 21 years, Afridi became the youngest captain ever to win a T20 title in franchise cricket. The record was previously held by Australia’s Steve Smith when he won the Big Bash title for Sydney Sixers in the year 2012 at the age of 22.

Lahore Qalandars defeated defending champions Multan Sultans in the final by 42 runs to get their hands on the elusive trophy. The tournament saw plenty of records broken with Fakhar Zaman, in particular, stealing the limelight throughout the seventh edition. Shaheen Afridi, Shan Masood, Shadab Khan, and Khushdil Shah are some of the other names who performed consistently well in PSL 7.

Qalandars swashbuckling opener Fakhar Zaman didn’t only score the most runs in PSL 7 but he also became the batter with the most runs in a single edition of PSL history which is 588. The flamboyant left-handed batter notched up one hundred and seven fifties in this year’s season. Zaman’s average was 45.23 and strike rate 152.72 with the highest score of 106. Islamabad United’s skipper Shadab Khan smashed 268 runs with the highest score of 91 and took 19 wickets in Pakistan’s most entertaining T20 league.

Meanwhile, here are some of the important stats and numbers from PSL 2022:

 588 – Fakhar Zaman ended the tournament as the leading run-scorer. With 546 runs, Mohammad Rizwan finished on the second spot.

20 – Sensational Shaheen Afridi took 20 wickets in PSL 7, the most by any bowler. Shadab Khan with 19 scalps ended up second on the list.

588 – Zaman’s 588 runs are the most by any batter in a single PSL season. He went past Babar Azam’s tally of 554 runs which he achieved in last year’s season.

245/3 – Multan Sultans recorded the second-highest total in the PSL history. They posted the massive total in the 25th match against Quetta Gladiators. The highest score is by Islamabad United 247/2 against Peshawar Zalmi in 2021.

103 – Wahad Riaz reached the landmark of 100 PSL wickets. He became the first bowler to achieve the feat. With 81 scalps, Hasan Ali is second on the list.

18 – Paul Stirling, Tim David, and Mohammad Haris all slammed the fifties in just 18 balls and all are now joint-second in the list of fastest half-centuries in PSL history.

48 – Harry Brook smashed the second-fastest century in the history of PSL, getting the feat in 48 balls against Islamabad United. Rilee Rossouw is atop the list for scoring a ton off 43 balls against Quetta Gladiators in 2020.

116 – Jason Roy registered the highest score (116) against Lahore Qalandars in PSL 7. It is also the third-highest score in the history of PSL.

8 – Karachi Kings became the first team to lose eight consecutive PSL matches.

9 – Multan Sultans became the first team to register nine wins in the league stage of PSL.

21 – At 21 years, Shaheen Afridi became the youngest player to lift a T20 title in franchise cricket. Steve Smith won the Big Bash League for Sydney Sixers in 2012 aged 22.

5/20 – Young fast-bowler Naseem Shah achieved the best bowling figures of PSL 2022. He bowled a brilliant spell of 5/20 in 3.3 overs against Karachi Kings.

20 – Shaheen Afridi equaled Shahnawaz Dahani and is now joint-third with him for taking most wickets in a single PSL season. Dahani also took 20 scalps in last year’s PSL.

54 – Left-handed batter Shan Masood struck most fours (54) in the season.

3– Shadab Khan became the first bowler in PSL history to take 4 wickets in three consecutive matches

21 – Hard-hitting batter Tim David smashed the most sixes (21) in the tournament.

8 – Multan Sultans also created the record for most consecutive victories (8) overall in PSL.

9 – In the match against Multan Sultans, Shadab Khan smashed third-most sixes (9) in an innings in PSL history. Ben Dunk had hit 12 and 10 sixes against Karachi Kings and Quetta Gladiators respectively in 2020.

2 – Multan Sultans appeared in their second successive PSL final.