PSL final to be held as scheduled in Lahore: Najam Sethi

PSL final to be held as scheduled in Lahore: Najam Sethi

Najam Sethi
Pakistan’s cricket chief Najam Sethi speaks with media representatives. (Photo by AAMIR QURESHI/AFP/Getty Images)

Pakistan Super League final is just 15 days away and the PSL chief is hard at work. There was a meeting held between the PSL committee and all the owners of the PSL teams. Najam Sethi, Chairman of PSL, sounded quite firm on taking the final to Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore.

The final is to be played on March 5 and there are huge concerns over the security of the players. As the attacks that happened on February 13 have just added fuel to the fire. However, the outcome of the meeting was positive for the fans in Pakistan as the final will take place in Lahore. The owners also sounded positive according to Sethi. He also praised the owners for their cooperation.

He said “It has been heart-warming to see the dedication of all the owners to the cause of taking cricket back home and there is a realisation that this final will be the first step in opening the gates to international teams starting to make the journey again. We are all committed to this mission and wish to have a thoroughly entertaining final where it should happen – in Lahore.”

Sources close to the meeting has told that the Chairman of PSL has promised the highest level of security for their players. The owners have also made a point to pay the players extra money if they travel to Pakistan. The source said, “Players who are willing to tour Pakistan will be paid an additional amount of $10,000 to $50,000 for travelling to Pakistan.”

The owners of Karachi Kings have confirmed that Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene and Chris Gayle won’t travel to Pakistan to play the finals if their team makes it. While the Zalmi skipper Darren Sammy and England bowler Chris Jordan have agreed to travel for the same.

Also check out – Twitter Reactions: IPL auction went from good to outrageously surprising

To clear out the players who are willing to travel to Pakistan and the players who are not, the PSL management has asked the franchises to make a list of the same. As some of the owners are yet to discuss the issue with their players. The management will later re-draft the list of players who are willing to travel to Pakistan.

Najam Sethi has also made a point to invite the Prime Minister of Pakistan Nawaj Sharif for the final in Lahore. The Gaddafi stadium happens to be the main center for PCB and PSL as well. Sethi said, “PSL management and franchisees resolve to hold Final in Lahore. We invite PM, COAS and CMs to attend the match at Gadafi Stadium,”

Here is the list of players who want to travel to Pakistan for the PSL final.

Rohan Mustafa, Devon Thomas, Jayson Mohammad, Shane Shillingford, Craig Ervine, Sean Williams, Anamul Haq Bijoy, Shahriar Nafees, Dawid Malan (Gold), Morne van Wyk (Gold), Sachitra Senanayake (Gold), Seekuge Prasanna (Gold), Jeevan Mendis (Silver), Alex Wakely (Gold), Joshua Cobb (Gold), Nikhil Dutta, Azeem Rafiq, Danza Hyatt, Krishmar Santokie, Tino Best, Phil Mustard, Fidel Edwards (Gold/Silver), Elton Chigumbura (Gold/Silver), Max Waller (Silver), Darren Stevens (Gold), Peter Trego (Silver), Richard Levi (Gold/Silver), Miguel Cummins (Silver), Asghar Stanikzai (Gold), Dawlat Zadran, Nawroz Mangal, Danushka Gunathilaka, Farveez Maharoof, Kusal Mendis, Steven Taylor, Azharullah, Soumya Sarkar (Silver), Jade Dernbach (Gold), Owais Shah (Gold), Yasir Arafat (Gold), Rayad Emrit  (Diamond), Suleman Benn (Gold), Brendan Taylor (Gold), Rashid Khan (Diamond), Ashar Zaidi (Silver), Ryan ten Doeschate (Silver), Akeal Hosein (Silver), Graeme Cremer (Silver), Sean Ervine (Silver), Chamara Kapugedera (Gold), Milinda Siriwardana (Gold), Anuk Fernando (Gold), Gihan Rupasinghe (Silver), Kausal Silva (Silver)