Qatar T10 League 2019: Final – Round-Up

Qatar T10 League 2019: Final – Round-Up

The Falcon Hunters were crowned the champions in the first edition of this league.

Falcon Hunters
Falcon Hunters. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Out of the two games that were scheduled for the last day in the Qatar T10 League, one match was not played. The third-place play-off game between the Desert Riders and Desert Oryx was cancelled as the semi-finals were washed out. Following this was a low-scoring yet intense final between the Swift Gallopers and the Falcon Hunters. The latter managed to get over the line just with a ball to spare and thus were crowned the champions for the first edition of this league.

The Swift Gallopers were asked to bat first in this game and they found it tough to get going. Skipper Kamran Akmal looked good with an 11-ball 16 but couldn’t go on to get a big score. A couple of other batsmen in the top three got out for single-digit scores. Ali Imran and Mohammad Imran made valuable contributions and put the team back on track. But Sufiyan Mehmood ended up playing a slow knock towards the end. As a result, the Swift Gallopers only got 85 runs on the board in 10 overs for the loss of 7 wickets.

An intense chase finished with a six

Even though the Falcon Hunters seemed to have an upper hand at the halfway mark, the Gallopers did well enough to subject them to pressure. The bowlers didn’t let Hashim Amla play his shots and the former South Africa cricketer crawled his way to 18 from 21 balls. His partner, Salman Butt, did well to get 18 runs from 10 balls.

Towards the end, as the pressure was building, Amad Butt came to the rescue. He added 18 more runs on the board in quick time and got good support from Tamoor Sajjad who scored 12 runs off 5 balls. The Hunters finished the chase in 9.5 overs and with 4 wickets to spare. Skipper Iqbal Hussain finished the match with a six.

Brief scores of the matches played on Day 10 in the Qatar T10 League 2019:

Desert Riders vs Flying Oryx – 3rd Place Play-off

Match cancelled

Falcon Hunters vs Swift Gallopers – Final

SGP: 85/7 in 10 overs (Ali Imran 19, Mohammad Imran 18, Murad Khan 2/18)

FLH: 87/6 in 9.5 overs (Salman Butt 18, Amad Butt 18, Ali Imran 2/8)

Falcon Hunters won by 4 wickets.