Ranji Trophy 2018-19, Round 7, Day 1 - Round up

Ranji Trophy 2018-19, Round 7, Day 1 – Round up

Defending champions Vidarbha got off to a shaky start in their clash with the 2016-17 champions Gujarat.

Manoj Tiwary. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The Round 7 action of the Ranji Trophy kicked off on Saturday with Mumbai taking an upper hand in their fixture against Saurashtra. With Jay Gokul Bista registering a hundred and Siddesh Lad inching towards another, Mumbai finished day 1 at 334 losing five wickets. Dharmendrasinh Jadeja picked up three wickets for Saurashtra.

Defending champions Vidarbha got off to a shaky start in their clash with the 2016-17 champions Gujarat. Kathal Patel registered a hundred with Dhruv Raval finishing unbeaten on 69 at stumps as Gujarat amassed 263 for the loss of six wickets. Aditya Sarwate compiled a brace for the bowling unit.

Hyderabad got off to a sensational start with an opening partnership of 125 between Akshath Reddy and Tanmay Agarwal, but Punjab finished the day on a high. Mayank Markande spun a web as the South Indian side lost track with a few quick wickets. They remained at 240/7 at stumps with Himalay Agarwal batting on 51.

Manipur take first-innings lead after getting bowled for 85

In a rather surprising turn of events in Kolkata, Manipur got bowled out first for a paltry 85 runs after Arunachal Pradesh put them in to bat first. In reply, Arunachal Pradesh got bowled for 66 with Thokchom Kisham registering a five-fer. After gaining a dramatic first innings lead, Manipur picked themselves up and finished day 1 at 192/3.

Maharashtra took the upper hand against Chhattisgarh with Rahul Tripathi scoring his 6th first-class century. Anupam Sanklecha’s crucial 66 towards the end got them to a respectable 239 before getting bowled out. Chhattisgarh’s top three got blown away by the brilliance of Sanklecha, who picked three wickets in the remaining ten overs of the day’s play. Chhattisgarh ended day 1 at 23/3.

Here are the scores from the other games happening across the country.

Brief Scores

Elite Group A

Mumbai vs Saurashtra

Mumbai first innings: 334/5 in 89 overs (Jay Gokul Bista 127, Siddesh Lad 84*; Dharmendrasinh Jadeja 3/89)

Chhattisgarh vs Maharashtra

Maharashtra first innings: 239 all out in 68.3 overs (Rahul Tripathi 102, A Sanklecha 66; Vishal Singh 5/59)

Chhattisgarh first innings: 23/3 in 10 overs

Karnataka vs Railways

Karnataka first innings: 208/9 in 89 overs (KV Siddarth 69; Avinash Yadav 3/43)

Vidarbha vs Gujarat

Gujarat first innings: 263/6 in 90 overs (Kathal Patel 105, Dhruv Raval 69)

Elite Group B

Madhya Pradesh vs Delhi

Madhya Pradesh first innings: 132/9 in 51 overs (Vikas Mishra 6/41)

Andhra vs Bengal

Bengal first innings: 194/6 in 78 overs (Manoj Tiwary 90; KV Sasikanth 2/37)

Hyderabad vs Punjab

Hyderabad first innings: 240/7 in 90 overs (Akshath Reddy 77, Tanmay Agarwal 60; Mayank Markande 3/65)

Tamil Nadu vs Himachal Pradesh

Tamil Nadu first innings: 226/8 in 78 overs (Baba Aparajith 53; Pankaj Jaiswal 3/45)

Elite Group C

Rajasthan vs Haryana

Haryana first innings: 118 all out 36.2 overs (Aniket Choudhary 5/45, Khaleel Ahmed 3/33)

Rajasthan first innings: 171/2 in 50.2 overs (Mahipal Lomror 75*, Chetan Bist 61)

Assam vs Goa

Assam first innings: 175 all out in 50.2 overs (Biplab Saikia 41; Lakshay Garg 5/73)

Goa first innings: 66/3 in 32 overs (Arup Das 3/33)

Jharkhand vs Services

Jharkhand first innings: 193 all out in 66 overs (Ishan Kishan 68; Arun Bamal 3/37)

Services first innings: 48/2 in 18 overs

Jammu & Kashmir vs Odisha

JK first innings: 127 all out in 53.3 overs (Owais Shah 44; Suryakant Pradhan 4/27)

Uttar Pradesh vs Tripura

Uttar Pradesh first innings: 257/4 in 86 overs (Akshdeep Nath 106, Priyam Garg 113*)


Bihar vs Nagaland

Bihar first innings: 150 all out in 46.1 overs (Harsh Singh 48*; Rachit Bhatia 6/44)

Nagaland first innings: 101/4 in 41 overs

Manipur vs Arunachal Pradesh

Manipur first innings: 85 all out in 26 overs (Deendyal 5/38)

Arunachal Pradesh first innings: 66 all out in 23.3 overs (Thokcho Kishan 5/16, Bishowrjit Konthoujam 4/27)

Manipur second innings: 192/3 in 36 overs (Hrithik Kanojia 79*, Yashpal Singh 51)

Get the latest Cricket News and updates from Indian domestic cricket, Match PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on CricTracker.com.