Rating the bowling line-ups of all teams in IPL 2020

Rating the bowling line-ups of all teams in IPL 2020

A lot has changed for the teams after the IPL has shifted to UAE due to the pandemic.

Chennai Super Kings
Chennai Super Kings. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The 13th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is just around the corner. Despite 13 members from the CSK regiment testing positive for Covid-19 on their arrival in UAE, the tournament is expected to go ahead as planned albeit with a few scheduling changes. Fortunately, players from England and Australia will also be available for the whole season as they won’t be required to undergo quarantine after their arrival in UAE.

Since this edition will be hosted by the middle-east nation United Arab Emirates (UAE), many changes will be expected in the starting XIs of various teams. The pitches in UAE may assist spinners; hence the teams with quality spinners in their squad will have an upper hand this season. Teams like CSK and DC have an obvious advantage over pace dominated teams like MI and RR.

IPL is usually famous as a paradise for batsmen; however, of late teams have started realising the importance of having an effective bowling line-up in the squad. Almost every franchise has a few world-class bowlers in their squad.

In this article, we will be rating the bowling line-ups of all teams in IPL 2020: 

8. Rajasthan Royals- 6/10

Rajasthan Royals
Rajasthan Royals. (Photo: IANS)

Much like Kolkata Knight Riders, Royals have many quality bowlers; however, most of them are overseas. Just like previous seasons, they have focused on youngsters this season as well. However, only a few of them seem reliable enough to be included in the starting XI.

The pace attack will be spearheaded by the English sensation Jofra Archer. Apart from him, the attack comprises of Tom Curran, Andrew Tye, Ben Stokes and Oshane Thomas. The Indian pacers include Jaydev Unadkat, Varun Aaron, Ankit Rajpoot and younglings Kartik Tyagi and Aakash Singh.

The spin department will be led by the hugely successful wrist spinner Shreyas Gopal. Apart from him, the other spinners are Mayank Markande and Rahul Tewatia, both of them being leg spinners. All-rounders like Riyan Parag, Mahipal Lomror and Anniruddha Joshi complete their spin-attack.