Ravi Shastri lauds Kane Williamson for handling World Cup final’s controversial moments gracefully

Williamson was seen smiling after the World Cup final and it melted a lot of hearts.

Kane Williamson
Kane Williamson. (Photo Source: Twitter)

New Zealand were unlucky not to be crowned the champions but they won the hearts of each and every cricket fan. They had the match in control going into the last over against England and looked destined to win the World Cup. But the ball ricocheted off Ben Stokes‘ bat to go for four overthrow runs and the match ended in a tie. A lot is being said about the incident but the way Kane Williamson handled the situation during and after the match has been praiseworthy.

The Kiwi skipper and his team didn’t deserve to lose the game and the trophy after giving their all in the final. But no one from the team or Williamson himself spoke about the controversial moment that turned the match on its head. England needed nine runs off three balls and it should’ve been only a couple off the fourth delivery if not for the overthrow runs.


Moreover, the on-field umpires Marais Erasmus and Kumar Dharmasena made a grave error by awarding six runs to England when only five runs should’ve signalled according to the rule. Amidst the fans and the experts showing their support and sympathy for the BlackCaps, the players never talked about the unfortunate incident after the match.

Rather Williamson went on to say that one moment shouldn’t be termed as the one which turned the roller-coaster in England’s favour. Not many could’ve handled the situation in a better way than Kane Williamson did and for the same reason, he has immensely impressed India coach Ravi Shastri.

You were simply remarkable

Ravi Shastri was in awe of the Kiwi captain and lauded him for his remarkable silence after the World Cup final. He also believed that New Zealand had one hand on the trophy before the fate denied them the glory. “Your composure and dignity viewing the sequence of events was remarkable. Your dignified grace and silence 48 hours since is simply remarkable. We know you have one hand on that WC. You not just Kane. You Kane and Able. God bless. #CWC19,” Shastri wrote in his tweet for Kane Williamson.

Here’s his tweet: