Reports: Stephen Fleming to take charge of Joburg Super Kings in CSA's new T20 League

The South Africa T20 tournament is expected to be played in January and February next year.

View : 2K

2 Min Read

Stephen Fleming
Stephen Fleming. (Photo Source: Twitter)

It has been reported that the Chennai Super Kings head coach Stephen Fleming will be taking charge of coaching the Joburg Super Kings in South Africa’s newest  T20 tournament. The inaugural edition of the eagerly-anticipated competition is scheduled to be held in January and February 2023.

CSK, their arch-rivals as well as five-time winners Mumbai Indians confirmed acquiring the franchises in the South Africa T20 tournament with the Chennai-based franchise buying the Joburg team. To add more to the information, all six South African teams have been purchased by the current IPL team owners with MI having acquired a Cape Town-based franchise.

 Joburg Super Kings will play in yellow clothes: A source

“We are looking at different names – like the Jozi Super Kings, Johannesburg Super Kings, but it looks like the team will be called the Joburg Super Kings,” a source told Rapport.

“They will play in yellow clothes and the current CSK coaching staff will simply come here in January to do duty before the IPL starts”, the source further added.

Furthermore, it has also been learned that former Proteas all-rounder Albie Morkel who had represented CSK between the 2008 to 2013 editions of the IPL might be roped in to serve the Joburg Super Kings in some role.

Coming back to the much-hyped South Africa T20 league, other IPL teams who have acquired the new franchises apart from MI and CSK include Sunrisers Hyderabad, Delhi Capitals, Lucknow Super Giants, and Rajasthan Royals.

As far as the tournament is concerned, it will be modeled on a franchise-based format and will be featuring six privately-owned teams who will be competing in 30 league matches in a double round-robin format and three playoffs which would be played over a three-to-four-week period.

With Chennai and Mumbai having teams in Johannesburg and Cape Town respectively, the other four IPL franchises have acquired teams in various cities of South Africa- Delhi Capitals (Centurion), Rajasthan Royals (Paarl), LSG (Durban), and, SRH- Gqeberha (formerly Port Elizabeth).

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store