Rohit Sharma-led team India followed thrilling IND vs AUS CWG 2022 final closely in Florida

Australia defeated India to clinch the Gold as India settled for the Silver medal at the CWG 2022.

BCCI Men's team following Team India
Indian Men’s team following CWG 2022 Final. (Photo Source: BCCI)
Vaishnavi Iyer

Jr. Staff Writer

View : 400

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

In the final of the Commonwealth Games 2022, the Indian women’s cricket team suffered a heartbreaking loss after falling nine runs short of the target that Australia had set. After working hard for so many days throughout the campaign and making their way to the grand finale, the Harmanpreet Kaur-led team was mandated to accept a silver medal.

The game turned out to be a real thriller, and with four wickets remaining in the final two overs, India required 11 runs to win in the last six balls. For Australia, Megan Schutt and Jess Jonassen maintained their composure, and in the end, Australia secured a victory to clinch the gold medal at the first-ever women’s cricket event at the CWG 2022.

The Indian men’s cricket team watched the Commonwealth Games final, after finishing off their stint against the West Indies in Florida, as the game entered its final minutes, BCCI shared a photo of Rohit Sharma and the team seriously indulged in watching the game on their phone. “Nail-biter at Edgbaston. Senior men’s team following #TeamIndia’s progress in the #B2022 Final,” the post read.

Men’s team won the T20I series by 4-1, whereas India clinched a silver medal on Sunday evening

Speaking of the men’s team, they defeated West Indies in the fifth and final T20I that was held in Florida on Sunday evening. Throughout the five-match series, India lost just one match and ended their tour on a high note by winning the T20I series by 4-1. Prior to the T20I series, India had clinched an ODI series win by 3-0.

Meg Lanning, the captain of Australia, chose to bat first after winning the toss in the CWG women’s cricket championship 2022. Australia scored 161/8 thanks to Beth Mooney’s 61-run innings. Renuka Singh and Sneh Rana both returned with two wickets for India. India was leading the pursuit of 162 thanks to Jemimah Rodrigues and Harmanpreet Kaur, who were both performing well.

However, the team lost, going from 118/2 to 152 all out in the final over, and Australia ultimately secured a victory. Skipper Kaur notched up 65 runs to lead her team from the front, but her dismissal brought an end to India’s winning campaign. While Australia and India bagged the Gold and Silver medals, New Zealand defeated England to clinch the Bronze Medal.