Shane Warne suggests Sourav Ganguly to try his idea of five overs per bowler in T20s in IPL 2020

Will Warne's new idea be implemented in IPL 2020?

Sourav Ganguly and Shane Warne
Sourav Ganguly and Shane Warne. (Photo Source: Getty Images)

View : 1.7K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

With the 2020 edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) just a few days away, Australia’s spin wizard Shane Warne has come up with an interesting idea to make the shorter format of the game, T20 cricket, more exciting and thrilling. Warne suggested that each bowler should be allowed to bowl a maximum of 5 overs.

As of now, each bowler in a T20 match can bowl only 4 overs, making it compulsory for the team to have at least five main bowlers in their squad. Tagging the BCCI’s president Sourav Ganguly and International Cricket Council (ICC) in his tweet, the former cricketer urged the authorities to bring this rule into play as soon as possible. He also suggested that this can be tested in the upcoming edition of the India’s T20 league.

Shane Warne tweeted, “Getting a lot of great reply’s to my suggestion re a maximum of 5 overs per bowler in T/20 cricket! Let’s make it happen ASAP @ICC! Maybe we could try it in the @IPL starting on Sept 19 @SGanguly99.”

Teams will be able to play an extra batsman

If Shane Warne’s suggestion is taken up, teams could include only four bowlers instead of five in their playing XI to finish their quota of 20 overs. This would allow them to include an extra batsman or an all-rounder instead of a specialist bowler. This can make the batting line-up of the teams more lethal and provide them with depth.

It was under the Australian Stalwart that the Rajasthan Royals registered victory of the T20 Championship in the inaugural edition of the IPL in 2008. Since then, the team has not been able to qualify for the finals even once and will be looking forward to ending their long wait in the upcoming edition under the leadership of Steve Smith.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is all set to kick-start the much-awaited 13th edition of the IPL in the United Arab Emirates (UAE). The tournament was expected to start in March, however the rise in the number of coronavirus cases in India compelled the cricket board to delay the league and now move it outside the country. The cash-rich league will run from September 19 to November 10 across three venues namely Dubai, Abu Dhabi and Sharjah.

The tournament sponsored by Dream11, will feature three-time champion MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings and defending champions Rohit Sharma-led Mumbai Indians in the inaugural match.