Sharjah likely to host Women's T20 Challenge this year

The tournament is also likely to be played from November 4 to 9.

View : 777

2 Min Read

Supernovas. (Photo: IANS)

Women’s T20 Challenge is set to be played in the UAE next month alongside the playoffs week on the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL). A bit more clarity has emerged around the tournament even as the BCCI is yet to make any official announcement. It has been reported that Sharjah is likely to host all the matches of Women’s T20 Challenge. The venue has already five out of 12 IPL matches so far and 200-run mark has been crossed in 4 of those games.

Though the BCCI hasn’t made any formal announcement since August 2, work is in progress in the background it seems. The board also appointed the selection panel and it has been understood that around 30-36 Indian players will be taking part in the tournament.

According to the report in ESPNCricinfo, all these players are likely to assemble in Mumbai on October 13 and then undergo a nine-day quarantine period. Soon after the quarantine period, players from all the three teams and their support staff will leave for Dubai on October 21.

Women’s T20 Challenge likely to be played from Nov 4 to 9

As reported earlier, the Women’s T20 Challenge is likely to be played from November 4 to November 9 when the IPL playoffs will also be played. With foreign players expected to arrive directly in Dubai, all the three squads will undergo a six-day quarantine in the same hotel, likely in Dubai, and will stay in strictly measured biosecure environment.

As of now, there is no clarity on the participation of the foreign players. But the cricketers from Australia and New Zealand are unlikely to play thanks to the clashing of the competition with Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) which is commencing on October 25. However, the players from Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and England are expected to grace their presence.

Trailblazers, Supernovas and Velocity are the three teams set to take part in the Women’s T20 Challenge. Last year, Supernovas, led by Harmanpreet Kaur, won the title defeating the Mithali Raj-led Velocity. On the other hand, Smriti Mandhana-led Trailblazers were knocked out in the league phase itself.

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store