‘Sit in Bangalore’ – Rohit Sharma dismisses Yuzvendra Chahal’s desire to represent Mumbai Indians

‘Sit in Bangalore’ – Rohit Sharma dismisses Yuzvendra Chahal’s desire to represent Mumbai Indians

Chahal made his IPL debut for MI itself.

Rohit Sharma and Yuzvendra Chahal
Rohit Sharma and Yuzvendra Chahal. (Photo Source: GLYN KIRK/AFP via Getty Images)

Yuzvendra Chahal, the wily leg-spinner, has quite a fair amount of experience in the Indian Premier League (IPL) as well. He is currently a part of the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), led by national skipper Virat Kohli. Back in 2014, RCB roped him in and ever since he has been a stalwart for them. The conditions he get at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium aren’t conducive to spin bowling either.

Yet he tosses the ball up, inducing the batters to play the wrong shots. It’s unlikely that the Challengers will be releasing him at least in the next couple of seasons or so. However, recently, he expressed his desire to play for the Mumbai Indians (MI). He put forth his wishes when Rohit Sharma, MI’s skipper, was having a chat with fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah on Instagram live.

Rohit lets down Yuzvendra Chahal

He asked Rohit if the Mumbai team was in need off a quality wrist-spinner. But Rohit didn’t pay heed to Chahal’s words. Rohit clearly said that Mumbai aren’t missing him since they are winning. “If the Mumbai Indians were losing, we would miss him. But we are winning now, why will we miss him? Chahal should sit in Bangalore, that’s the ideal situation for him,” Rohit said.

Rohit and Chahal share a healthy camaraderie and have had some friendly conversations on the social media platforms. Even Ritika Sajdeh, Rohit’s better-half, has shared a friendly relation with the Haryana leg-spinner. As far as Chahal’s IPL career is concerned, he forayed into the league, playing for MI itself. But in the three seasons, he could only represent them once before getting released.

Since Chahal left MI, the team has won three titles in 2015, 2017 and 2019. The Rohit-led team is also the most successful in the T20 championship, having won it four times. Last year, they beat the Chennai Super Kings in the final by a solitary run to win the title.

RCB, on the other hand, are yet to win the IPL despite having some big names. In 2009 and 2016, they made the final, but missed out, much to their agony. Kohli’s captaincy credentials have also been questioned plenty of times.