SLC send back Dinesh Chandimal to play domestic cricket; name a stand-in skipper for South Africa series

SLC send back Dinesh Chandimal to play domestic cricket; name a stand-in skipper for South Africa series

Niroshan Dickwella has bee named the vice-captain of the Test team.

Dinesh Chandimal
Dinesh Chandimal. (Photo by Kai Schwoerer/Getty Images)

The heavy losses against Australia in the two-match Test series has not gone down well with Sri Lanka it seems. The captain Dinesh Chandimal has come under the scanner for his poor show with the bat in New Zealand and Australia series. Sri Lankan cricket board has decided to send him back to domestic circuit to improve his batting ahead of the Test series against South Africa.

The decision to send back Chandimal looks fair as he was struggling miserably. Having said that, the extreme decision has been taken ahead of one of the toughest tours which might bamboozle many. Chandimal didn’t ooze any confidence with his batting in the recent overseas tours and this sudden step from the board must have put his future in doldrums now.

According to the reports in Cricbuzz, Sri Lanka have named Dimuth Karunaratne as the stand-in skipper for South Africa Test series which is scheduled to commence from February 13. They have also announced the 17-man squad for the two-match series. A lot of new names are part of the team even as Angelo Perera, who became the first batsman to score two double centuries in a first-class game, has received his maiden call-up to the Test side.

Dickwella named vice-captain

Niroshan Dickwella has been named the vice-captain for the tour. He was the only batsman who scored runs consistently. Though even he didn’t manage to score big and was more or less guilty of throwing his wicket away after getting a start. Interestingly, he was also promoted to bat at number four in the second innings in Canberra and he couldn’t go past the 30-run mark again.

Roshen Silva has also been dropped after the debacle in Australia while the likes of Oshada Fernando, M Shiraz and L Embuldeniya have received their maiden call-ups along with Angelo Perera.

Sri Lanka Test squad: Dimuth Karunaratne (C), Niroshan Dickwella (VC), Lahiru Thirimanne, Kaushal Silva, Kusal Mendis, Kusal Perera, Milinda Siriwardana, Dhananjaya De Silva, Oshada Fernando, Angelo Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Kasun Rajitha, Vishwa Fernando, Chamika Karunaratne, M Shiraz, L Sandakan, L Embuldeniya.

Get the latest Cricket News and updates from South Africa vs Sri Lanka seriesMatch PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on