Sourav Ganguly-led BCCI likely to reduce the upcoming selectors' term to three years

MSK Prasad served as Indian selector for four years.

Sourav Ganguly
Sourav Ganguly. (Photo Source: Twitter)

View : 1.1K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

MSK Prasad was appointed as Indian chief selector in 2015 and after serving for four years, he is on his way out along with central zone selector Gagan Khoda. This decision was taken in the recently held 88th Annual General Meeting on Sunday. However, there were reports that they might get an extension for a year as per the current BCCI reform but Sourav Ganguly confirmed that their tenure is finished and it cannot be extended further.

The BCCI chief is also mulling the idea for reducing the tenure from four years to three years in recent developments. Earlier, the Committee of Administrators (CoA) had extended the term for the national selectors from four to five years. But now, Sourav Ganguly wants to scale down the tenure from four to three years. The new BCCI panel is trying to take things back to how they were before CoA took the charge.

Sourav Ganguly opines on Indian selectors tenure

As per the reports of Times of India, the reduction in tenure from five to four years is just applied to the latest bunch of selectors. And, according to that Jatin Paranjpe, Sarandeep Singh and Devang Gandhi, who joined the selection panel in 2016 will continue for one more year left in their respective tenures. Sourav Ganguly said that four years term was designed keeping the World Cup in mind. So, they are thinking to introduce a three-year term for the upcoming selectors.

“The four-year term was designed keeping in mind the ICC World Cup cycle. But that’s a thing of the past now. A three-year stint can be introduced to keep things fresh and in perspective.” the BCCI President said. After Prasad’s term as chief selector came to a halt, the name of former Indian spinner Laxman Sivaramakrishnan is doing the rounds to replace him.

Meanwhile, for the Central zone, Gyanendra Pandey from Uttar Pradesh is also in the spotlight as a replacement for Gagan Khoda. Even Dilip Vengsarkar, who had not completed his tenure last time around, has shown his interest in joining the selection panel.